Need some career advice.

DistributedBen

Limp Gawd
Hello everyone. I am in need of some career guidance and advice. I apologize in advance if this post is a little long. :)

I’m currently a sysadmin for a small school (5 servers, 200 desktops) and I’m finding myself in a bit of a rut. Where I work I am the only technical staff, so I manage our servers as well as provide all the break/fix and desktop support for users. While being “on my own” as far as the tech department goes has provided me with some great hand-on experience, I also haven’t had the benefit of working with a senior admin with more experience. I’ve also never received any formal training other than the books, etc I pay for myself. The only certs I currently have are A+ and Network+ that I did many years ago.

I mention this because I feel that after 6 years it is time to move on, and my limited experience has left me a little overwhelmed when trying to find out what area of IT I want to focus on in the long term. Since the servers I setup pretty much run themselves, outside of the usual maintenance, I spend most of my time maintaining the desktops and assisting users. While the desktop stuff isn’t bad it has become very repetitive over the years, and I’m more interested in the server/network side of things.

Technology wise, I’m really interested in content (audio, video, messaging, and conferencing) and applications delivered over the network and Internet. When I visit sites like flickr or youtube.com, I’m always curious about the networking and servers that help deliver this content. I’m not talking about the programming, but how the bandwidth is managed, what kind of servers run these apps, etc. Security interests me as well.