Need people who have gone through a Novell Netware to Active Directory migration

cyr0n_k0r

Supreme [H]ardness
I am looking for IT administrators that have taken their enterprise from a Novell Netware environment (preferably 6.5 or newer) and successfully migrated it to an Active Directory and Exchange environment.

I am in the very early planning stages and I want to get all the info I can about a migration of ~80 servers, 1000 employees.

I am confident that I can deploy AD and Exchange, but I have limited experience with Novell. I want to know all I can before I present things to my superiors.

A lot of this depends on your current workstation environment. We have netware 6.5 ( sp5 I believe ) + zenworks 7. As I migrate workstations over to AD, I am uninstalling zenworks and letting AD do it's GPO thing.

For user syncronization, we are using DirXML ( although I understand there is an MS product out for this. MSDSS? Not sure of the exact name, I'll check it out at work ). We are currently doing one way sync ( from netware to AD ), but when the workstations are converted we'll pull the plug and go all AD.

File system migration is going to be a trickier issue; the permissions are all NDS. I was planning on migrating it over in chunks, and manually resetting permissions ( as there will have to be a translation between NDS and AD ).

Is it as easy as just setting up your file storage on the windows side, setting permissions on the folder then copying things over from the old NDS stuff?

I'm reading and with my own AD automation scripts I have I do not see very many issues with user migration and group policy, folder redirection, etc.

The storage though is something I'm not sure yet how to migrate.
Also, are there tools to get email from Groupwise over into Exchange?

File migration; The problem for us is the absolute rats nest of permissions that have evolved over the years. Everyone needs special access to everything else; it's a mess.