Need help with Windows Vista Basic...

Lyquist

2[H]4U
I am having a problem with Windows Vista Basic. A customer gave me his Compaq Presario 504US laptop to install XP on because Vista sucks on that particular laptop. The problem is that when I boot from the Windows XP disk, it doesn't see a hard drive. I ran SpinRite on the drive and the drive shows up and is fine.

I also tried to use some tools to fdisk the drive, but I need some recommendations as to what to use for this. I have never had the XP disk not see the drive before. I checked on HP's site for hard drive drivers that I could slipstream on the XP disc, but I didn't see any.

I am just dead in the water with this job until I can either fdisk the hard drive somehow or get the hard drive to show up. Does anyone have any suggestions?? I am very new to Vista, so maybe it is somehow locking the drive to not be seen from XP.

The customer does not have recovery disks at all. I don't want to give up just yet, but I don't want to give him back an unuseable machine either. Thanks in advance for your help.

you prolly need a SATA driver, easiest way would be to check the chipset and see if you can get it from straight from intel's site.

you prolly need a SATA driver, easiest way would be to check the chipset and see if you can get it from straight from intel's site.

How would I check the chipset in Vista?? I am really clueless about Vista to be honest. The machine runs extremely poorly with VIsta right now to be honest. Thanks in advance for helping me.

I downloaded the chiputil from Intel's site, but it wouldn't work. I'll try cpu-z next.

most likely a intel i945GM being a intel 950gma intergrated video laptop (same as my e1405).

Check HP's website for the driver.
Also, Vista is no different from XP in a lot of places, one of them being how to check devices installed on the computer.

Right click on computer > manage > device manager.