need help installing WHS

moose517

Gawd
Joined
Feb 28, 2009
Messages
640
alright, i think i've about tore out all my hair at this point trying to install WHS on my new rig. I want AHCI drivers so i can use hotswap this time, was in IDE mode last time and hated it. in the BIOS on the supermicro board i set the sata ports to AHCI mode, i copied all the driver files off the install disc because i don't have a floppy drive to my USB flash drive. when the CD boots and gets to the GUI asking to load additional drivers i pull it up for intel AHCI ICH9R driver. it loads it up, continue through the process of installing,

Then after the first reboot it just starts to boot from the disc again, even though i have the hard drive set to boot first. WTF is the deal, if i don't even have the disc in it just complains that bootmanager or netloader is missing. whats wrong and what did i f*ck up haha.
 

Adidas4275

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
5,986
once you get into the old school bluescreen install you need to hit F6 (just like XP pro) and load the drivers off a floppy.

no getting around it, or at least not that I have found. I did the same thing. The WHS GUI install is just to see if you are doing a new install or a reinstall... it is looking for tombstones. to actually load the ACHI drivers into the install you need to load them with the F6 command in the older looking install (looks just like XP install, after it restarts once)
 

moose517

Gawd
Joined
Feb 28, 2009
Messages
640
thats the problem, it doesn't get there, once it does a reboot to go to that old school install it just claims there is no install at all and loads up disc again even though it set to load the SATA drive first.
 

[LYL]Homer

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 7, 2004
Messages
4,211
I had this happen with an install of WHS, I abandoned ACHI and just installed under IDE.
 

moose517

Gawd
Joined
Feb 28, 2009
Messages
640
i would say screw it as well, but i want hotswap ability, which is the whole point i bought a norco 4020 case to house this new version.... i'm downloading a modded/patched version of WHS that people recommend, gonna see if it fixes my problem.
 

Adidas4275

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
5,986
do you have more than 1 HDD installed?

if so just connect the 1 OS HDD and see if that helps. have you verified the HDD that you are loading on to is good? also have you checked your RAM to make sure it is error free....

also is your WHS CD a burned copy? if so reburn it and verify the burn after....

these are all things that have screwed installs that I have had in the past.

also is the bios updated?
 

moose517

Gawd
Joined
Feb 28, 2009
Messages
640
there are 2 HDD, but one is on a raid card that i don't have the drivers for yet, gonna wait for the raid cards till i get the OS installed to the drive that is attached to the onboard ports. As far as i know the drive is good, guess thats a simple thing to check LOL. as far as i know the ram is good, don't have any computer to test in since its ECC stuff.

disc is retail version so no not burned. Bios is as current as it gets as well.
 

theinv

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
216
alright, i think i've about tore out all my hair at this point trying to install WHS on my new rig. I want AHCI drivers so i can use hotswap this time, was in IDE mode last time and hated it. in the BIOS on the supermicro board i set the sata ports to AHCI mode, i copied all the driver files off the install disc because i don't have a floppy drive to my USB flash drive. when the CD boots and gets to the GUI asking to load additional drivers i pull it up for intel AHCI ICH9R driver. it loads it up, continue through the process of installing,

Then after the first reboot it just starts to boot from the disc again, even though i have the hard drive set to boot first. WTF is the deal, if i don't even have the disc in it just complains that bootmanager or netloader is missing. whats wrong and what did i f*ck up haha.

Hi Moose517,

You need to slipstream your drivers into your WHS install disc. Follow the guide here to do so. After that, you don't need to use F6 to install drivers.

Slipstream Windows Home Server

I setup my WHS OS drive in raid1 using the slipstream method, no problem at all.
 

nitrobass24

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
10,462
Take the RAID card out and only have the 1 system drive installed.
 

Kenworth

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
2,141
Take the RAID card out and only have the 1 system drive installed.

This. Many people are having trouble getting raid cards and whs to play nicely. I don't have specific sites to source but look into the 1 drive then installing the card. WHS like to control the mirroring and for some reason it doesn't take kindly to setups like yours.
 

[LYL]Homer

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 7, 2004
Messages
4,211
there are 2 HDD, but one is on a raid card that i don't have the drivers for yet, gonna wait for the raid cards till i get the OS installed to the drive that is attached to the onboard ports. As far as i know the drive is good, guess thats a simple thing to check LOL. as far as i know the ram is good, don't have any computer to test in since its ECC stuff.

disc is retail version so no not burned. Bios is as current as it gets as well.

Could try testing the ram with memtest86.

Do you have another optical drive to try?
 

moose517

Gawd
Joined
Feb 28, 2009
Messages
640
of course i have another optical drive, however, it is getting through the initial install, like the parition is there and such and it shows all the data on it, but still cant boot from it for some reason, i switched the sata ports for AHCI to raid, that will still allow hotswap right?
 

nitrobass24

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
10,462
Yes

Do you have anything in PCI slots, USB thumbdrives, etc.?
When you do an OS install you should have 4 things.
CPU
RAM
1 HDD
CD
 

moose517

Gawd
Joined
Feb 28, 2009
Messages
640
i have a USB drive plugged in, but it contains the driver needed for the AHCI LOL. other than that nope. i think i might have found the solution, will update here in a bit LOL.
 

moose517

Gawd
Joined
Feb 28, 2009
Messages
640
soooo forgot that Xp/2003 won't accept flash drives for drivers. busted out a floppy drive and disk and put the drivers on it, then put into computer when it asked for it pressing f6, then going one by one through the listed drives they all fail on a line. so do i have the wrong drivers or is the install bad? and i know the board i'm have uses ICH9R for onboard, tried all of the intel ones that were on it that on supermicro's disk were labeled for intel AHCI drivers. i think i'm gonna submit a help ticked to supermicro, cause there documentation sucks IMO.
 

moose517

Gawd
Joined
Feb 28, 2009
Messages
640
back again, i read through the page describing how to slipstream the drivers onto a disc, only problem is, the DOS drivers part, those are just standard drivers you get from people like intel? or the ones that i would put on a floppy disk? if its the ones on the floppy disc that becomes complicated, but nothing i don't think i can handle. I'm starting to get aggrevated cause i wanna get this up and running but its these small things that are killing me. i love that i'm to the point that windows is basically set for install, but it ticks me off about these drivers. WHSv2 can't come soon enough LOL.
 

theinv

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
216
back again, i read through the page describing how to slipstream the drivers onto a disc, only problem is, the DOS drivers part, those are just standard drivers you get from people like intel? or the ones that i would put on a floppy disk? if its the ones on the floppy disc that becomes complicated, but nothing i don't think i can handle. I'm starting to get aggrevated cause i wanna get this up and running but its these small things that are killing me. i love that i'm to the point that windows is basically set for install, but it ticks me off about these drivers. WHSv2 can't come soon enough LOL.


The DOS driver part confused me too when I slipstream my WHS installation. It took me a while to figured it out. It means the third party drivers you want to use (eg. raid drivers), not the MS-DOS drivers. You can add as many drivers as you want.
 

moose517

Gawd
Joined
Feb 28, 2009
Messages
640
alright got the drivers done and it installed :p not sure what i did but it finally just took them haha. Now i have everything installed in the OS except one thing, i downloaded the newest drivers for the AOC-SAT-MV8 from supermicros website, i installed the drivers like it said in the readme. however they also mention to install the marvell removable driver thing, only thing is, i can't seem to find this driver to be able to do hot swapping. any ideas where to get it, marvell doesn't seem to be able to find such a thing using there serach nor google not from a dependable source anyways. This is the last thing from getting my rig finished and up and running :D
 
Top