Need Help 1070 turning off when using PC

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by Kato1144, Jun 2, 2018.

  1. Kato1144

    Kato1144 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    This just started yesterday, but when im using my PC in the Desktop (watching youtube) the screen will blankout but the video will keep playing the card fans will go to 100% and nothing, can get the picture back, OS it still running can soft power down just fine.

    so if i do a hard boot and get back in to the OS the drivers apper to work fine untill it "Crashes" again if i soft boot when i get back in to the OS the drivers are disabled.

    I tired clean installing the drivers but this keeps happening i have googled my symptoms to come up empty handed, has any one heard of this happening before this is throwing me for a fricken loop.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2018
  2. Kato1144

    Kato1144 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    of course right after posting this i found this thread, i will see if i can get a fix with there solutions in the mean time if you have heard or experienced this please let me know what was done to fix it
     
  3. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,313
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    bump the vram voltage a bit on the gpu. see if that helps.
     
  4. Kato1144

    Kato1144 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    I will keep that in mind if i have another crash but one of the users of the forum i linked suggested going in to msconfig and setting the number of CPU's in the boot section and it seems to be working
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  5. Kato1144

    Kato1144 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    never mind, it just crashed again..... this is really starting to tick me off :\
     
  6. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,313
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    try the vram voltage and make sure all power saving/turn device off stuff is disabled. also, what os?
     
  7. Kato1144

    Kato1144 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    im running windows 10, i will have to look in to the power saving features also will try to bump up the vram voltage, btw how would i do that, i have MSI afterburner here and all i see is power limit increase
     
  8. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,313
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    you might not be able to due just the vram, so try upping the power limit or core voltage if its available. also some setting might not be shown depending on which skin your using. is use the "default v3" skin.

    edit correct skin name.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2018
  9. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,313
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    also make sure your AB is up to date. and I have seen people talking of a voltage curve editor in ab but I cant figure out how to get to it, googling...
    does ctrl+f open anything for you?
     
  10. Kato1144

    Kato1144 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    ya i have switched to the v3 skin and vram is not there only power limit and vcore and vcore is unavailable, so i increased the power limit to 110% and turned off the screen black out feature, it was really the only thing i had to change, the computer never goes to sleep.


    also i updated AB and ctlr+f opened the voltage curve
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  11. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,313
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    in the voltage curve try to raise it so that the minimum is +.1v so .8v to .9v or whatever. from what ive been able to find there is no way to directly control the vram voltage any more. hopefully if you bunch the power limit a bit and up the voltage curve at the low end it wont blank out.
     
  12. Kato1144

    Kato1144 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    kk i will give that a try, just to update turning off the screen time out option in windows seems to be helping, i had 1 hour of no crashes before i shut it down.

    i will update if it works or not, thanks for the help so far pendragon1
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  13. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,313
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
  14. sirmonkey1985

    sirmonkey1985 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010

    Messages:
    20,527
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Another thing to try is disabling low power state for pcie in windows. Otherwise my only other suggestions would be power supply related or driver related since I had a similar issue like you are having with an old 8800gt. Drove me nuts til I swapped psu's and never had it happen again.
     
  15. vick1000

    vick1000 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,874
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    DDU those drivers and try newer or older ones. I had the problem on a set of drivers with a 970 and 760.
     
  16. _l_

    _l_ I Am A Cock

    Messages:
    1,178
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2016
    this poster is either full of crap or refuses to listen to the advice instead wanting to tell others what he will do.

    Someone said "up the VRAM voltage" and the OP's response was "I'll keep that in mind" LOL
     
  17. Kato1144

    Kato1144 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Well I'm not full of crap but I should have come back here sooner and updated you guys, since i have been here last i started a thread on the official Nvidia forums here I was going to update sooner but i had a crash after a long while of not crashing and i wanted to post that i got it figured but it did not happen, anyway as for upping the voltage it looks like afterburner might be part of the problem so for now I have it removed, I have been running a older driver now with nothing else installed "no hypervision,physix,GFE, ect) and it has been stable, there is more for me to do but I suffer from a injury to my spine so moving around and swapping PSU and testing RAM individually like the guy in the Nvidia thread suggested is going to have to wait till i get around to it and get help from others.

    So in the mean time I'm going to work with Greybear on the Nvidia forum and once I get it solved I will post what I did to get it solved.

    I will try to check up on here more often but i have many days were I'm just to medicated or in to much pain to do any serious trouble shooting so I tend to take my time right now, also the driver test I'm doing right now seems to be working, I'm heading over to the Nvidia forum now to update greybear.

    FYI I'm running a clean DDU driver install version 387.92 and only the driver. I changed the PCI setting to gen2 (Set in the BIOS) the gen 3 setting might also be causing instability and so far so good, I will make a update here if i can get a month out of it or it crashes.
     
  18. vick1000

    vick1000 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,874
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Also, if you are using display port, I believe there are some issues with newer monitors using 1.3 and 1.4 with NVidia cards.
     
  19. Kato1144

    Kato1144 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    na I'm using 2 HDMI's
     
  20. Shadowed

    Shadowed Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    242
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    What is your power supply?
     
  21. Kato1144

    Kato1144 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Corsair RM 750 x, I have i second one I can swap with but since moving to the older driver and uninstalling Afterburner and such it seems to be stable so for now I'm not going to swap the PSU but if i get a crash for no reason in the next 3 weeks swapping the PSU is the first thing I will do.
     
  22. Shadowed

    Shadowed Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    242
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    If you do crash again, try underclocking memory and core clock.
     
  23. Kato1144

    Kato1144 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    If you guys are following my thread here you will see i had a period of it working and i thought i was home free but then today happened and I'm starting to think my card is defective but before i get ahead of my self let me quota my self


    If you want more details on what i was doing prior to these post i would suggest going here and reading all the post (there is only 2 pages for now) but basically I was using the 1070 day one driver with nothing else installed (no phisx, 3D vision, GFE, HDMI audio driver or afterburner) and for over a month no issues but after installing phisx and the HDMI audio driver a few weeks ago i had one of the worst crashes ever, i would loss picture about 10-20 seconds after booting up, first thing i did was swap the PSU but still was having issues, I removed the driver with DDU and lost the picture 2 more times after and once in windows advanced boot menu, I did find that there might be a issue with the HDMI on my monitor, so maybe it is a bad connection and some times when the screen would rock it would cause issues and i just got lucky for 6 weeks but I'm not so sure

    Now i know that sounds like a solid idea and it would be my go to step if the crashes happened when i was gaming but so far every crash has happened when the GPU was not loaded and was self under clocked (core 140MHz mem 202MHz) so if it is crashing at those speeds I'm not sure what under clocking would accomplish besides handicapping my 3D game play, if I'm looking at this the wrong way and there is merit to underclocking it I will install afterburner again and try it.

    anyway at this point im certain it is not a power problem or a driver problem (due to the fact it kept having issues after completely removing the driver) so if it is not the HDMI connection on the back of the monitor and i loose picture again for no good reason I think im just going to RMA this card, by process of elimination it has to be the vid card or the MOBD PCI slot, and I'm done trying to figure this out.. so next picture loss I'm swapping in a HD6950 and sending this back to ASUS and if i have a issue with my working 6950 losing picture and stuff i guess its down to the MOBD (I have a b-350 laying around so i can swap) but these crashes when im web browsing or working on a word doc are wearing me thin as i almost am always doing something that i need to focus on and the picture loss just effs everything up.
     
  24. filip

    filip Gawd

    Messages:
    907
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Hey man same thing was happening to my card 1060 for a while, it died a little after i posted my thread asking for help on here (nvidia forum) Might be time for an RMA, Just a suggestion... good luck with your card.
     
  25. kdh

    kdh Gawd

    Messages:
    663
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    I had the same exact thing happen with my 1080. I moved it to a different slot on the mother board, and reseated the power connections and the issue went away.
     
  26. Kato1144

    Kato1144 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    worth a shot if it happens again
     
  27. Nauseous

    Nauseous Gawd

    Messages:
    839
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    i had this happen the other day, i resovled it by reinstalling windows