Need general WMP control speed/frame/scrub etc.

Raycaster

Limp Gawd
I'm an intermediate programmer at best having used most languages but master of none. I usually turn to vba when I want to write something as I its the easiest and basically handles what I need.

I coach a local HS volleyball team and would like to easily edit game video.

There are several high end packages available but the cost is prohibitive for the volunteer hobby.

Most packages handle the game breakdown in 3 steps:

1) Cut game video into game points. End up with 200 small clips.
2) Each clip is analyzed and each clip has a info file containing play facts (lost/won/rotation/error/player touch - 50 details)
3) A final Query screen where the end user filters what they want to see eg, All clips of won points by rotation 3...

I dusted off vba and quickly had WMP and VLC| controlled within VBA. The other features are basic a ton of buttons to set attributes and build text files to query etc. I'm thinking of not creating all the small clips and just using something like a "Play EDL" .

Its all like a simple custom database which doesn't seem to tough.

My question is to the TRUE programmers, will vba be my best choice or should I use another language?

Also, although playing back video was easy enough I started looking into speed control and a possible "scrub" wheel. Is there a "toolkit" for WMP that would make these features easily programmable or do I need to just dig deep into the docs?

Thanks ahead.

Some of what you're asking can be accomplished with what you have. Pick a seek position and duration, and store some metadata about the section. Then you can query the stored metadata, and selecting a chunk will playback the large video clip from the seek-to section and playing for a specified duration. Some of this may require some timers and events, but is doable.