Need advice: RAM overclocking

TheForumTroll

Weaksauce
Hello experts :)

So I'm thinking about grabbing a new CPU soon (looking at a Q9505) but first I want to play around a bit with my current one. I'm new to overclocking but I had a go at it anyway and so far nothing smells burnt :p I'm not sure about my RAM though. It seems it cannot go above its normal speed at all. Do I need to add more voltage maybe? It sits at the manufactures specified voltage and timing setting now (2.14v/5-5-5-15 as far as I can remember). The CPU can go pretty high even with my standard cooler. 12 hours Orthos gave a max temp of 76 C (3,8ghz @ 1,2v).

Any advice of what to try with the RAM?

ok first things first going from min~max on your ram = 2% gain in real world apps {ballpark number}

forget about that part lets just thing about pumping up the cpu its were the real power is if you pimp this part of the world

i can tell you right now im not real big on your cpu temps , what type of cooler are you using ?

Ps i know full well how to do the ram thing too if you really want to go their, id recommend not going their for now seeing as your new to the overclock topic.btw nice nic too :D

I'm using a standard Intel cooler in a well ventilated case (have a look in my sig). I'll buy a new proper cooler soon but with a new CPU too. This is mostly a testbed before I upgrade so the new CPU wont be my first real overclock ;)

I tried 4ghz with no errors but then it gets too hot for the cooler to handle under load.

According to my BIOS and CoreTemp the CPU should be okay at these temps. Shutdown is at 100 so as long as it is below 80 I'm good right? It doesn't get as hot in normal use. Only when running stuff like ORTHOS.

Cool cool .i was kind of burnt out when i posted,didn't even think to look at your sig.

On the wight paper from intel its 72.4C max,shore you can go higher, my self i don't and i don't play that game with cpus.