Napp-it and OmniOS HDD Upgrade

N Bates

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
170
Do I need to consider anything else while upgrading my HDD's from 24 x 2tb to 6 x 14tb in my NAS, I am going to perform the following:

My windows 10 PC is the backup with windows 10 storage spaces using 3 x 14tb and ReFS file system, I will be reformatting the Windows backup first as when I had set it up, I went the auto windows set up route and have not created via PowerShell, therefore transferring files (movies in this case) is extremely slow, I am currently trying to find a good guide to do this.

Once the above has been done and Window 10 storage spaces ReFS has been created via PowerShell, I would copy my files from the NAS to the newly created Storage spaces pool via RichCopy.

I would then remove the 24 x 2tb drives from the NAS, install the 6 x 14tb and install OmniOS r151030 LTS to the NAS and set up accordingly, then proceed to install Napp-it, I would appreciate a recent guide to do this.

Once the above has been done I would copy files from the Windows back up to the NAS.
 

_Gea

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
3,973
The fastest option would be of course if you could add the new pool from 6 disks to your NAS system ex via Sata or maybe you can remove some of the 2TB disks (degraded state is no risk as you can re-add the missing disks at any time), then replicate via zfs send.

Optionally (asuming you want a Z2) create a new pool from 6 disks and remove two of them. Then replicate from/to a degraded pool. When replication is finished, re add the missing new disks for a resilver. Destroy the old pool only when the new one is resilvered and online.

Copy to/from Windows is ok but slow

I would use current OmniOS 151036 stable instead 151030 lts due a newer SMB 3.1.1. Install is quite easy. Download installer (usb or dvd iso), install OS, configure network and install napp-it via the online installer, then import the pool:

wget -O - www. napp-it.org/nappit | perl

more https://napp-it.org/manuals/index_en.html
 

N Bates

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
170
Thank you _Gea, due to the old drives and I need to get OmniOS to recognise the new drives for speed, I think I will need to re-install, I want to install the LTS but can I change the the new r151038 LTS from r151036 when this is available from Q1 2021?

I have seen a guide before which you have created but not sure where to find it now or whether this is still up to date and relevant.
 

_Gea

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
3,973
want to install the LTS but can I change the the new r151038 LTS from r151036 when this is available from Q1 2021?

An update from OmniOS 151036 stable to 151038 lts will be no problem.
 

N Bates

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
170
Thank you _Gea, I will go with the 151036, can you please guide me to your step by step as I can't seem to find it, also, is there a program to start a lifetime access to the full version of Napp-it for non commercial use per 1 device basis without support?

Thanks
 

N Bates

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
170
It has finally taken just over 71 hours to transfer my data base into the MS storage space backup and now ready to install OmniOS and Napp-it, however, I have got a couple of questions, I remember some time ago when I installed OmniOS and because of my old hdd's OmniOS installed somehow taking these into consideration and I remember if I wanted to use new modern drives I had to re-install destroying the pool and starting from scratch, this is what I am going to do now and wonder whether I need to do anything in the installation for the 4k disks or will OmniOS does this automatically?

Also, do I have to initialise my drives on another computer first before installing these on OmniOS and Napp-it?
 

N Bates

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
170
Phew...managed to fix it Napp-it.org with wget is working now, I had to add my default gateway to OmniOS.
 

_Gea

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
3,973
It has finally taken just over 71 hours to transfer my data base into the MS storage space backup and now ready to install OmniOS and Napp-it, however, I have got a couple of questions, I remember some time ago when I installed OmniOS and because of my old hdd's OmniOS installed somehow taking these into consideration and I remember if I wanted to use new modern drives I had to re-install destroying the pool and starting from scratch, this is what I am going to do now and wonder whether I need to do anything in the installation for the 4k disks or will OmniOS does this automatically?

Also, do I have to initialise my drives on another computer first before installing these on OmniOS and Napp-it?

ZFS use disks depending of physical sector size so 512e or 4kn disks are used in 4k mode automatically.
You do not need to initialize disks as long as they do not have a secured partition. Only in this case the partition must destroyed first.
 

N Bates

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
170
Thank you _Gea, the drives have set up good automatically, do I still need to set up a guest account to access SMB, SMB is turned on but no guest account set up yet, does this needs to be done with or without password, I just can't remember how I set it up the last time.
 

N Bates

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
170
I have created a guest account via "smbadm enable-user guest" and something very strange, I can't see my RAIDZ2 vdev that I have created yesterday, I can only see the rpool when I go in the pools section?

I have also got "localhost smbd[19242] [ID 4133393 deamon.error] dyndns: failed to get domainname" to I need to change the smb active directory from domain to WORKGROUP?
 
Last edited:

_Gea

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
3,973
For guest access, you must create a user guest
and enable guest accessess via "smbadm enable-user guest" and share with guest access enabled-
you can then connect without the need of entering name+pw under this account

In workgroup mode (without guest enabled on a share) you can connect as a OmniOS user.
If OmniOS username and password is identical to your local Windows one, you can access without entering name+pw
Workgroup mode is set per default.

In Domain mode, you access OmniOS with a useraccount from your Windows AD

rpool is normally not used for shares and hold system and bootenvironments only.
If you create a filesystem on rpool you can share it and it will be shown in menu filesystem
 
Last edited:

N Bates

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
170
I enabled user guest, so should the this be set to domain or workgroup or does it matter?

How do I create a folder and share it on the pool, also the pool that I have created is not showing, it was showing once I created it but not now, should I just import it or delete it and create again?

Thanks for all your help _Gea.
 

N Bates

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
170
Also, I am not able to access the server via putty with the below error

Access denied
Keyboard-interactive authentication prompts from server:

Edit: I have managed now accessing putty by de-selecting the box under "SSH" then "Auth" then "Attempt Keyboard interactive auth (SSH2).
 
Last edited:

N Bates

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
170
When enabling netbios to true, which /etc/hosts file need the host IP address the server or the windows 10 machine client?
 

N Bates

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
170
I have managed now to create a ZFS File system with a shares on with a guestOK, so looks all good, next will be transferring my data from the backup to the newly set up NAS and eventually tweak my 10gb connection which goes through a netgear 10gb switch between the windows 10 workstation back up and OmniOS Napp-it server.

Thanks for all your help _Gea.
 

_Gea

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
3,973
Also, I am not able to access the server via putty with the below error

Access denied
Keyboard-interactive authentication prompts from server:

Edit: I have managed now accessing putty by de-selecting the box under "SSH" then "Auth" then "Attempt Keyboard interactive auth (SSH2).

If you want to manage the box ex via Putty or WinSCP as root, it is enough to enable SSH and allow root
(napp-it menu Services > SSH)
 

_Gea

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
3,973
When enabling netbios to true, which /etc/hosts file need the host IP address the server or the windows 10 machine client?

If you have a Windows AD Server and want to browse shares via network environment you should enable netbios in Services > SMB > properties. If you want to access a server with its hostname in a environment without AD server, you must edit the hosts file on a client ex Windows

Usually you map a network with the option "reconnect" so you only need to connect once ex via ip
 
Top