My screen keeps dimming in HDR

Nebell

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 20, 2015
Messages
2,124
So I turned HDR on in display settings in Windows.
Set SDR content to max brightness. All good.
But damn screen suddenly decides to dim the brightness. It's driving me crazy.
This did not happen when I had HDR turned off. I noticed it happens when I look at white backgrounds.
How do I fix this? Is this Windows or my monitor doing?
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
32,310
What monitor or TV? Regardless, most screens will not maintain peak brightness across the entire screen with HDR. No need to turn HDR on in Windows unless you're watching or editing HDR content.
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
5,507
Cranking SDR brightness to max in windows HDR mode will basically blow the panel out so it's dimming to not kill itself.
 

Drags

Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2005
Messages
986
There’s almost certainly a setting in the menu to control the dimming. Look for global dimming, local dimming, dynamic contrast or other such settings. You may find they are locked on though when HDR mode is detected.

Solution only turn on HDR when you’re actually viewing HDR compatible content on the screen :)
 

Nebell

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 20, 2015
Messages
2,124
Dynamic dimming is not selectable in the menu and I'm not sure why :/
I tried turning on other options but no change.

Maybe because I'm using integrated GPU. Or maybe because it's display port and not hdmi (hdmi doesn't support 120hz on 4k on this monitor).

The monitor in question is Asus ROG Strix XG438Q.
 

Attachments

  • 20200429_120548.jpg
    20200429_120548.jpg
    305.1 KB · Views: 0

kasakka

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
2,643
Sounds like it might have some kind of automatic brightness limiter. Possibly tied to temperature sensor or something so it will dim the display to prevent it getting too hot.

Don't turn HDR on unless playing games or watching movies in HDR. There is just no reason to have it enabled on the desktop all the time with the way it is currently implemented in Windows.
 

Drags

Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2005
Messages
986
Dynamic dimming is not selectable in the menu and I'm not sure why :/
I tried turning on other options but no change.

Maybe because I'm using integrated GPU. Or maybe because it's display port and not hdmi (hdmi doesn't support 120hz on 4k on this monitor).

The monitor in question is Asus ROG Strix XG438Q.
It’s likely always on then when an HDR signal is detected. In which case it’s always going to be active when it’s an hdr input. As said though, just turn off HDR in Windows unless you’re actually viewing HDR content
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
5,507
Or just turn sdr brightness down on the windows option. Again, with that slider max you’re pushing max brightness. No HDR panel can push max brightness for every pixel at the same time.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
32,310
Dynamic dimming is not selectable in the menu and I'm not sure why :/
I tried turning on other options but no change.

Maybe because I'm using integrated GPU. Or maybe because it's display port and not hdmi (hdmi doesn't support 120hz on 4k on this monitor).

The monitor in question is Asus ROG Strix XG438Q.
"Dynamic Dimming" is only an option in SDR. It enables the local dimming feature for SDR content. It's always on with HDR.

Your OSD shows the monitor is running at 60 Hz, by the way. I'd set it to 98 Hz so you still get full RGB with HDR enabled.
 

Nebell

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 20, 2015
Messages
2,124
"Dynamic Dimming" is only an option in SDR. It enables the local dimming feature for SDR content. It's always on with HDR.

Your OSD shows the monitor is running at 60 Hz, by the way. I'd set it to 98 Hz so you still get full RGB with HDR enabled.

I can't because of Intel 630 GPU lol. I sold my 1080Ti and am waiting on 3xxx cards. It seems 630 can't do higher than 4k/60hz.

Thanks all, I'll just turn HDR off.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
32,310
I can't because of Intel 630 GPU lol. I sold my 1080Ti and am waiting on 3xxx cards. It seems 630 can't do higher than 4k/60hz.

Thanks all, I'll just turn HDR off.
That would have been good information to have, as only 7th generation Intel integrated GPUs and newer support HDR as far as I'm aware.
 

Nebell

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 20, 2015
Messages
2,124
That would have been good information to have, as only 7th generation Intel integrated GPUs and newer support HDR as far as I'm aware.

7th gen CPU?
I have 9900k

I'll just leave HDR off for now, I'm used to SDR in movies and I can't really play any HDR games atm.
 
Top