My older 8800Gt

Discussion in 'nVidia Flavor' started by Dan_Grr, Oct 28, 2012.

  1. Dan_Grr

    Dan_Grr n00b

    Messages:
    49
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    A friend of mine gave me a 8800 GT. When I get it into the mobo and power on, it does a high pitch continuing sound - something tells me this isn't good so I turn it off.

    My current build has no video card (just the mobo's), so I thought I'd appreciate my friend's gift since he got himself a HD7770.

    How can I get the 8800GT to work?

    This is my build:
    [​IMG]
     
  2. GotNoRice

    GotNoRice [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,214
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Stupid question perhaps, but you plugged in the 6-pin PCIE power connector right?
     
  3. Dan_Grr

    Dan_Grr n00b

    Messages:
    49
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Not at all, actually I don't know what that connector is and I'm looking on the web for what it is.... and also checking my mobo boxes to check for connectors.
     
  4. GotNoRice

    GotNoRice [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,214
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    [​IMG]

    Your power supply should have at least one of those, if not, molex adapters (also pictured) are commonly available. It should plug right into the back of your 8800GT.
     
  5. Dan_Grr

    Dan_Grr n00b

    Messages:
    49
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Looks like I'm screwed. My power supply doesn't have that square shape connector. I checked inside the case and the power supply boxes.

    Btw, that is exactly what my card needs, I noticed it has a square shape plugin for that connector at one of its edges.
     
  6. Red Falcon

    Red Falcon [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,990
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Yeah, normally those PCI-E auxiliary power adapters supply around 75 watts of additional power to the graphics card, hence the reason for it.
    You could order a dual-molex-to-PCI-E power adapter as shown in the image above, or get a new PSU.

    All PSUs in the last 6-7 years have those connectors, so even a low-end Corsair PSU will have at least one available.
     
  7. GotNoRice

    GotNoRice [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,214
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    This is the power supply that you have right? Same product code (p1-450s-x2b9) as listed in your build.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817207018

    It shows that it does indeed have the necessary connector. It's also non-modular, so it's not as if the modular cable simply wasn't included with your build.
     
  8. Dan_Grr

    Dan_Grr n00b

    Messages:
    49
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Yes, that's the one.

    Checking the box in front of me while typing this...

    EDIT: Yes, the PSU does have that PCI 6-square connector after all, I had to unscrew the other side of the case to see it. I'll turn off the PC and try again.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2012
  9. Dan_Grr

    Dan_Grr n00b

    Messages:
    49
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Interesting thing happened.

    I plugged in the pci connector to the card already socketed in the mobo.

    Then I boot up and I can't see the screen.

    I take the card out and I can see the screen again.

    The computer is booting, I just can't see anything with the card in.
     
  10. sirmonkey1985

    sirmonkey1985 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010

    Messages:
    21,521
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    you probably have to go into the bios and disable your on board video (IGP) then put the card in, or see if there is a setting in the bios to automatically switch to PCI-e video(might say PCI without the -e) when a card is installed.
     
  11. Matthew Kane

    Matthew Kane [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,233
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    uhmm make sure your BIOS display setting isn't set default to IGP only, should let it be on auto or so. Another possibility is the 8800GT/GTX's were notoriously known for dying randomly, no post just fans spinning, artefacting etc...a good old oven bake will fix it (I don't suggest you jump to this anyway), but yeh you sure your friend didn't give you a borked graphics card?
     
  12. Matthew Kane

    Matthew Kane [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,233
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Ahhh damn...1 minute delay to sirmonkey...damn you !!! :D
     
  13. Dan_Grr

    Dan_Grr n00b

    Messages:
    49
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    That makes sense.

    So I restarted the PC, went into BIOS, but couldn't find the option to switch the board.

    I may not be looking at the right place.
     
  14. bamaland101

    bamaland101 Gawd

    Messages:
    765
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Step 1
    Open the BIOS menu. Pressing the “F2” or the “Del” key during computer startup usually takes you to the BIOS menu.
    Step 2
    Select the “Advanced” tab using the left/right arrow keys.
    Step 3
    Select the “Video Configuration” option using the "Up/Down" arrow keys. Certain motherboard models list this option as “First Display Device” or “Primary Display Adapter."
    Step 4
    Select the “PCI-Express Graphics" option and press “Enter.”
    Step 5
    Press "F10" to save the new settings. You can now use the PCI Express card slot to install a PCIe video card.



    your bios might have a different naming but should be similiar at least.
     
  15. Dan_Grr

    Dan_Grr n00b

    Messages:
    49
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Is this the screen? I changed it to PCI and PCI-E (it was previously set to Auto - which should have worked in the 1st place?)

    Still didn't work...

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2012
  16. Kamainae

    Kamainae [H]Lite

    Messages:
    72
    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    I suppose you have connected the monitor to the 8800 between changes?
    Just asking, sounds silly but it could happen.
     
  17. GotNoRice

    GotNoRice [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,214
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Yeah, first check to make sure that you have your video cable plugged into the back of the 8800GT, if you expect to see video from that card.

    Otherwise, boot with your video cable connected to the onboard video, and switch it over to the 8800GT in windows at least.
     
  18. Mr. Bluntman

    Mr. Bluntman [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,408
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    This.
     
  19. Dan_Grr

    Dan_Grr n00b

    Messages:
    49
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    *blushes*

    Yes, that worked. I'm not running a hot (literally) 8800GT. Hopefully that will be enough to give a try with X-COM: Enemy something game.

    And now I have a problem with my audio - heck. I have an Asus P8H77-M, I only have a headset, audio was fine until a week or so ago. I don't think I messed anything in the bios. I already went and unsinstalled and installed the latest official (audio) drivers for this board from Asus, but nothing worked so far.

    When I put the headset on, the audio is really distorted. For example I was listening to a video tutorial and I hear sound but I can't tell what the guy is saying. I have the latest codecs (K-Lite Full), latest drivers, so I don't know what's the problem. The headset works fine in another computer.
     
  20. Matthew Kane

    Matthew Kane [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,233
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Reset the default playback device globally for all input/output devices. Make sure your not using SPDIF as default playback for your headset.
     
  21. Dan_Grr

    Dan_Grr n00b

    Messages:
    49
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    How do I reset it?

    This is the BIOS settings for sound (not sure if there are more). I've tried setting the Front Panel to ACL97 instead of HD, setting the SPDIF Out Type to another option but I still get the distorted sound.

    [​IMG]
     
  22. Dan_Grr

    Dan_Grr n00b

    Messages:
    49
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    I can bring this to the place where I bought my build but I was hoping I'd get this fixed myself.

    Is it possible the sound/board was affected due to humidity?
     
  23. Matthew Kane

    Matthew Kane [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,233
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    My last post was in reference to making sure you have the latest appropriate Realtek drivers installed for your motherboard, and resetting all the default playback devices globally through the Realtek software in windows once you log in.
     
  24. NoxTek

    NoxTek The Geek Redneck

    Messages:
    9,267
    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    1. Make sure if you are plugging the headset into the rear of the case you are plugging into the GREEN jack.
    2. Go into the audio control panel for your Azalia audio (It's the orange colored speaker icon in the system tray at the bottom right of the screen) and check the settings there to make sure something didn't get messed up.