Mushkin Value Ram Wows!!

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Seongmin, Mar 27, 2006.

  1. Seongmin

    Seongmin Gawd

    Messages:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Well, I'm running 2 sticks of 512 Mushkin Value Ram and I have gotten it up to 245 stable. The voltage being supplied is 2.8, and the clocks are 3-5-5-7. My question is..., should I take these to 250 and increase the voltage to 2.9 for stability or am I already overdoing it with the 2.8 volts? Thanks.

    EDIT: 250 right now, but cpu-z isn't loading. Time to try the 2.9v...
     
  2. truflip

    truflip Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    281
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    most ppl stop at 2.8 lol be careful u dont fry your new ram =P id stick to DDR500 and work on the timings if I were you
     
  3. Seongmin

    Seongmin Gawd

    Messages:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    250fsb owns me... I can't get it stable, even at 2.9v, and I don't want to push it any higher unless one of you crazy guys convince me... :D . I'm at 245 right now at 2.8v, with 3-4-4-5 timings. I'll run prime and memtest, and if all goes well, I'll drop the timings to 2.5-3-3-5 and see what happens.

    Btw, is the ram fine at 2.8???
     
  4. truflip

    truflip Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    281
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    whats the actual reading in BIOS or windows? sometimes motherboards can give +- 10% the actual voltage.. i.e my mobo.. i set it to 2.65 and its puting out 2.61

    I would say your safe with 2.8. do you have 2.75 setting in your BIOS? ive never dared to hit 2.8 or anything higher.
     
  5. (cf)Eclipse

    (cf)Eclipse Freelance Overclocker

    Messages:
    30,028
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    first thing: running at 3-5-5 is killing any performance benefit of the higher mhz.
    next, can you tell what chips are on the sticks?
    last, what's your rig? ;)
     
  6. Seongmin

    Seongmin Gawd

    Messages:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    It says 2.80V in Bios (NForce 3A). Also, the computer is now down to 3-3-3-5, memtest stable. I'll take it down to 2.5-3-3-5 once I get back from class. The system is as follows...

    Dad's AMD 64 2800 ;)
    NForce-3A (Bios f) <------ BUGGY drivers on CD, going to DL and do a reformat.
    Mushkin Value Ram 2 x 512 PC3200
    eVGA 6600GT
    Maxtor 60 Gig HD

    The cpu has done 2.6 with the mem dividers at 166. The weird thing is, the max when using Clockgen with this setup is 235fsb (28x on cpu).

    I'll post screenies, and I'll get a reading on the chips once I get back.

    EDIT: Before leaving, I bumped down to 2.5 but it didn't boot :(. I was able to drop the volts to 2.7 though :). I guess 245fsb at 3-3-3-5 using 2.7v is all this mem can take.

    Cool thing is, this is the lowest that I can get (except for with cas 2.5) even when running at 200fsb.

    EDIT: Not stable at 2.7v. 2.8 FTW.
     
  7. larrymoencurly

    larrymoencurly [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,624
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    I've tried only two sticks of Mushkin value RAM, 512MB PC3200, and all I can say about it is, Wow, it's really bad.

    The first stick wouldn't work reliably at the SPD defaults, even at PC2700 speed.

    The second stick was OK at PC3200, but only in my VIA KT400A mobo. With my nForce3 mobo I got errors at PC3200 no matter what settings I used, including 2T, 3-4-4-8, and higher voltage.

    The chips on these sticks were Spectek. And the odd thing was that the SPDs said the manufacturer was Kingston????
     
  8. Seongmin

    Seongmin Gawd

    Messages:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Dang, I must have gotten lucky.

    [​IMG]

    I suck with pics..