Moving Local User to Domain

jdetmold

Weaksauce
I am About to deploy a Windows Server 2008 R2 domain in a business that currently only has local users on all computers.

I have limited experience with Windows Server as I have spent most of my time on Linux... I have however setup several Server 2003 domains but always with all new workstations so this has never come up before (just to make sure i knew what i was doing i have setup a virtual WS2008R2 box and several clients on my vmserver).

There are about 10 systems that i need to setup but all systems have many documents, email, and applications already installed in a local profile.

The question is what is the best way to move a users profile from local to domain?

I am not setting up roaming profiles.
the users systems are running a mix of XP, Vista, and Windows 7.

Thanks for the help!

Jeff

You can use tools such as linked above...
Or you can use the profile copying tools built into Windows (system properties...user accounts)
Or you can copy the profile manually youself (after joined domain and the new user profile is created...reboot into safe mode w/networking support as domain Admin....go into docs 'n settings and copy the contents of old local profile into the contents of the new domain profile)
Or you can do what I usually do....as I do not like copying over ALL the junk from the old local profile (that can sometimes bring along old problems...too much old registry crap, I like being able to start with a fresh new lean and clean profile)...I just cherry pick what I want to copy over...Docs, Desktop, Favorites, and e-mail..such as PST and NK2 file. This can be done from the server actually after the PC does a reboot and nobody logs in...don't have to be sitting at the local PC.

I've done it many times by going through the network to \\workstationname\c$
Now you're working through explorer just like sitting at the local PC...drill into docs 'n settings and copy what you want.