Motherboards using 24 pins now?

malice8691

Weaksauce
OK. I guess ive been living under a rock. Im looking at new motherboards to upgrade and Ive noticed they all have 24 pin connectors on them. Now I didnt think that my abit ai-7 was that old. It only had a 20 pin connector and an additional 4 pin header. I have been using an enermax 420 watt psu for a few years and have been just delighted with it. I had assumed that my new mb would work fine with my 420 watt enermax supply. I was looking at the dfi sli board and read that you have to use a real 24 pin supply. Is this new 24 pin just a combination of the 20 pin and the seperate 4 pin in one connector? Can i just plug in my 20 pin and my 4 pin next to it? I really dont have the budget for a new psu. Im gonna forget about the dfi board working with my old psu but what about an asus a8n sli or the abit sli board?

The 4 new pins aren't always required. As long as you've got a decent PSU you can just use an adapter or other provided means to connect the 20-pin connector to the mainboard's 24-pins.

Elledan said:
The 4 new pins aren't always required. As long as you've got a decent PSU you can just use an adapter or other provided means to connect the 20-pin connector to the mainboard's 24-pins.
I'd be carefull with that statement. This won't work with a lot of the SLI setups, I have seen quite a few incompatibility issues with true 24 pin PSU, much less a 20-24 pin converted one.

malice8691 said: