Monitor HDMI + PS3 Sound

Discussion in 'Displays' started by ShiningHolden, Jun 9, 2009.

  1. ShiningHolden

    ShiningHolden Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    315
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    I have a 24" LCD monitor with no built-in speakers. The monitor has an HDMI input, which I use for my PS3.

    Is it possible, and if so how, can I use the audio output from the PS3?
     
  2. lawless2142

    lawless2142 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    253
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    From reading up on the PS3 menus, it appears you can select separate video and audio outputs. So for video you can still use HDMI, but audio can use the regular AV cables (multi-out/scart). Now how do you turn RCA plugs into something you can use with your speakers? Easy:

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...d=10218&cs_id=1021804&p_id=666&seq=1&format=2

    There's a dozen variations of that little plug, but it just combines the two audio channels into a stereo 3.5mm plug. You can put that into your soundcard's line in, or get the version that has a 3.5mm jack on it so you can plug in your speakers directly.
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2009
  3. daveswantek

    daveswantek [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,231
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    The PS3 has an opyical audio out port as well, so if your audio card has an optical input port you can stay all digital. Yah; I know only high-end audio cards have this, but it is becomming more common.

    Dave
     
  4. One2The3

    One2The3 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    179
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    You can take the composite cable that came with the PS3, plug it into the PS3 and connect the red and white ends to some speakers; all the while the HDMI is connected. As mentioned, change the audio output on the PS3 menu.
     
  5. worx

    worx Gawd

    Messages:
    706
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    I have the same question except it's for the xbox 360. I'm using a HDMI to dvi connector to the monitor, but how would I get sound to external pc speakers? I can't connect the a/v cable in while the HDMI is connected to the xbox, it doesn't fit. Any ideas?
     
  6. lawless2142

    lawless2142 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    253
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    You can do that hack or spend the moola to get the 360 HDMI kit. It's basically the same HDMI cable but a reduced profile AV adapter that fits in the slot at the same time. Like the cable hack shows, MS deliberately made the cables non interoperable. Considering you have to solder some connector and tear apart a perfectly good cable, I just bought the damn HDMI kit. Overpriced, yes.

    Also note that this is the exact same adapter 360 Elite owners get in the box, so if you know a friend or look on Ebay you can get it cheaper.
     
  7. nomu

    nomu Gawd

    Messages:
    818
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    There's no soldering involved. Just have to stick a screwdriver in that connector without stabbing yourself.

    Quoting myself from another thread: