Mobile VM storage

pcgeek86

Limp Gawd
Hey guys, I am a traveling consultant, and am interested in finding some large, external, fast, inexpensive, bus-powered storage to run virtual machines off of in VMware Workstation 7.0.

I purchased an 880GB Seagate USB 2.0 drive from Best Buy (2.5" bus-powered), but it's horrifyingly slow when executing even just one VM off of it. It's painful, but much, much faster to run the VMs off of my internal hard drive, but it's not large enough to store everything I need to on it.

I am equipped with a Dell Latitude E6400, which has an eSATA port on it (yay!), and I am planning on purchasing an eSATA enclosure this weekend from my local Frys store. That said, I could probably use a 2nd drive simultaneously, but only have 1 eSATA port.

Is there any hardware out there that would let me mobile-ly (without carrying around a power supply) convert my single eSATA port into multiple?

Cheers

Hey guys, I am a traveling consultant, and am interested in finding some large, external, fast, inexpensive, bus-powered storage to run virtual machines off of in VMware Workstation 7.0.

I purchased an 880GB Seagate USB 2.0 drive from Best Buy (2.5" bus-powered), but it's horrifyingly slow when executing even just one VM off of it. It's painful, but much, much faster to run the VMs off of my internal hard drive, but it's not large enough to store everything I need to on it.

I am equipped with a Dell Latitude E6400, which has an eSATA port on it (yay!), and I am planning on purchasing an eSATA enclosure this weekend from my local Frys store. That said, I could probably use a 2nd drive simultaneously, but only have 1 eSATA port.

Is there any hardware out there that would let me mobile-ly (without carrying around a power supply) convert my single eSATA port into multiple?

Cheers

Without external power? no.

How much space do you really need?

Startech makes a dual 2.5in drive with single eSATA, but it has a power connector.