minor issue with WD 3.5" Easystore drive

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by x509, Nov 30, 2019.

  1. x509

    x509 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    I just got a 12 TB WD Easystore drive and I have a minor issue with the 12V power. The 12V power supply that I keep permanently plugged in doesn't work with this drive. The center pin in the power receptacle in the drive case is too fat to accept the 12V power supply that I use with every other 3.5" drive case or drive dock.

    I use different 3.5" drives in ext. cases or in my drive dock and this one power supply works with all of them except the new WD Easystore drive. The power plug for the WD's power supply fits loosely, not snugly, in the power receptacles of some of these cases.

    More importantly, the WD power supply is only 1.5A. The dual bay drive dock came with a 3.0A power supply, and that's the one I keep permanently plugged in.

    As I said, a minor issue. I use 1 drive a year for my backups, and I'll probably buy the same drive next year. I got this drive on a Black Friday sale at $100 off the regular price, and less than the price for a 10 TB drive.
     
  2. mwroobel

    mwroobel [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,952
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    If you are talking about the center pin in the wall-wart power supply, there are 100 different barrel lengths and center pin widths that are used in all sorts of devices. There are also positive and negative tips, so be careful that they match. As long as the adapter you are using is the same voltage, the same polarity and can supply at least what the device requires in amps you are fine. instead of swapping plugs back and forth, just leave the WD adapter plugged in as well.
     
    Machupo likes this.
  3. Machupo

    Machupo Gravity Tester

    Messages:
    4,955
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Not to put a too-fine point on it, but standardization in the arena of barrel plugs is lacking.
     
  4. x509

    x509 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    mwroobel
    Agree with your last point except that the WD adapter is only 1.5A and my Fideco dual bay docking station uses a 3A adapter. In the past, I used a lower amp adapter, and there were definite issues when I tried to plug in 2 3.5" drives.

    About that standardization. Maybe I'm living in a different universe, :rolleyes: but until now I have never had an issue here.
     
  5. mwroobel

    mwroobel [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,952
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Right, as I said as long as the adapter supplies at least what the device needs you are ok. Plug the WD in for the WD and also leave the 3A adapter for the other device(s).