Mild overclock and keep sleep functional

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by EnderW, Aug 29, 2018.

  1. EnderW

    EnderW [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,720
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Right now I have a Z270 board and 7700k at stock settings. I’m “downgrading” to a 6700k so I have full Windows 7 functionality without hacks.

    I’d like to get a small overclock on the new system but I also would like to maintain the ability of the computer to sleep when not in use. Right now all the fans turn off which is nice because it’s not my main system and so it stays relatively dust free.

    I haven’t overclocked in a long time so any tips appreciated.
     
  2. Mega6

    Mega6 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,067
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Ni have my 3930k x79 running all cores at 4.2ghz and sleeping. Didn't really do anything special, left spread spectrum on.
     
  3. Dermen

    Dermen Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2017
    Just set the sleep timer like normal in Windows and it will sleep like any other PC.

    You can also leave speedstep and C1E enabled. These lower the clock speed and voltage when idle. Really the only trick to them is you have to use offset voltage when overclocking or the voltage won't drop at idle.
     
  4. EnderW

    EnderW [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,720
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Another question. When overclocking are you pretty much overriding the base and turbo speeds to just a single speed that it will run at all the time?
     
  5. Mega6

    Mega6 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,067
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    No as mentioned enable speed step. Just jacked up the turbo multiplier.
     
  6. Mega6

    Mega6 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,067
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Also went to 1.4v on the Vcore.
     
  7. Dermen

    Dermen Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2017
    When you overclock it disables turbo boost. Your overclock will be the new base frequency.

    It used to be recommended that you disable speedstep and c1e when overclocking. This made your CPU run at full speed and voltage all the time. This is not necessary and most people don't do it anymore. If you leave them enabled your CPU will lower its clock speed and voltage depending on CPU load. Right now I'm browsing the web and my 6700k is running 800mhz @ .85 volts. As soon as the I do something that puts the CPU under load it will jump to 4600mhz @ 1.3v.
     
  8. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,302
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    This is so C2Q Q6600...

    to keep on topic overclocking and power saving features (sleep, hibernate, etc etc) haven't been a problem since A LOT of generations ago I think since the i7 870 gen.. it still had some issues here and there with some boards, however since sandy bridge it wasn't ever a issue to consider, AMD had some issues on the FX platform regarding Cool NQuiet and other power saving features when overclocking however nowadays even AMD platform tend to overclock in a way that the Vcore and clocks drop to idle states..
     
  9. EnderW

    EnderW [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,720
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    That’s exactly the kind of overclock I had in mind.

    I haven’t overclocked anything since my 2600k.

    Thanks guys. I’ll post some results when I get them.