Migrate Server 2003 file server shares to new machine (Server 2008)

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by AMD_Gamer, Jun 29, 2011.

  1. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    I am going be moving all the shared folders on my Server 2003 file server to my new Server 2008 VM and want to do it in a way that will allow my clients to be able to access them as if nothing happened. I have been reading about the Windows FSMT (File Server Migration Toolkit) http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=10268 and it will copy over all the permissions and everything but I am not sure how to go about making sure the client will still be able to access the shares especially if they have mapped any of them. If i change the IP and host name of the new machine to the old one after the migration is complete and then shutdown the old server will everything run smoothly? What is the best way to go about doing this?
     
  2. Jay_2

    Jay_2 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,584
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    you can do this or you can change DNS so that the old server name points to the new server IP. You need to turn off StrictNameChecking

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\lanmanserver\parameters]
    "DisableStrictNameChecking"=dword:00000001

    this means that you can name the server what ever you want but if you go to the old host name it will also take you to the new server.

    Don't forget this needs to be completed and rolled out after the users log off but before they log back in

    As old user move on and new users join make sure that you link them to the share via the new host name so eventually the old host name is fased out and you can remove the above reg key.
     
  3. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Thanks for the info I will look into that. There is also some way to do it with DFS.

    This migration will be done next weekend when nobody is in the office.
     
  4. Soldier101

    Soldier101 Gawd

    Messages:
    621
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Can you apply this via GPO or do you have to use a login script?
     
  5. fluke420

    fluke420 Gawd

    Messages:
    885
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    I believe that's a server side setting, not client.
     
  6. calvinj

    calvinj [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,738
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Nobody will be there?? Robocopy everything, disjoin the old server and shut it off rename the new server the same as the old one and give it the same ip address and re share everything.. like nothing ever happened.

    Don't make it fucking harder than it has to be especially if your already planning to have downtime!
     
  7. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Yeah we are going to come in on a Saturday and do the move along with the new Exchange server while nobody else is in.

    I am going to stick with the FSMT as I am not familiar with robocopy. I think it uses robocopy underneath it anyways.
     
  8. calvinj

    calvinj [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,738
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Robocopy is easy..


    robocopy source destination /copyall /e /tee /r:2 /w:3
     
  9. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,330
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    1x old server and 1x new server? How many users?

    In it's most simple form...in MMC on the old server, take a screen shot of your shares..that will list them all, the path, and the share name. There's your documentation to recreate the shares. For a backup, go start==>run==> \\oldservername and take a screenie of it's shares.

    Assuming you follow the convention of having a D or E drive for your Data volume...copy that D$ over to new server in one swoop.
     
  10. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    About 20-30 users.
     
  11. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,330
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Should be cake...1x server 'n 30 users and a whole weekend to do it? You'll be done in an hour or so....even if you have complicated groups with various security permissions.
     
  12. calvinj

    calvinj [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,738
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Depending on how he does it.. Security Permissions will be a wash. They will copy over to the new server. Least they always have with Robocopy.

    Now whether they are right or wrong is another story ;)
     
  13. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    The FSMT copies security permissions.
     
  14. gimp

    gimp [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,767
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    This.
    I had to upgrade a server a while back.
    This is exactly what I did, and absolutely no issues.
     
  15. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    When i choose the source server that has the shares i get this:confused:

    [​IMG]
     
  16. timberdoodle

    timberdoodle Gawd

    Messages:
    878
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    That error message appears valid to me.

    \\earth\d$\\data is indeed an invalid path
     
  17. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    You can only enter a hostname/ip address of the source server. It is using that path by itself. :confused:
     
  18. gimp

    gimp [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,767
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    there's an extra backslash in the path, according to the error window
     
  19. timberdoodle

    timberdoodle Gawd

    Messages:
    878
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Well that is rediculous. Time to use robocopy!
     
  20. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    That is coming from the server or the FSMT. As i said you can only enter a hostname or ip adress of the source server.
     
  21. Jay_2

    Jay_2 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,584
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2011
  22. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
  23. gimp

    gimp [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,767
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    I've never used FSMT, so I'm not help t here.
    I've used RichCopy with great success, though.
     
  24. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Rich Copy looks interesting, I will give it a try.
     
  25. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    We figured out why the FSMT was not working. For some reason the entire HDD was being shared. Don't ask me. But i unshared that and it works great now.
     
  26. gimp

    gimp [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,767
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    are you talking about the D$ share?
    that's an admin share and enabled by default, along with all fixed-drives.
     
  27. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Yeah the D$ share. I know it is an admin share but when disabled it would work. It does not seem to effect the permission settings on the shares we are transferring and once we are done we are taking this server down anyways so I am not worried about running into any problems. The systems re-enables admin shares when you reboot anyways.