Microsoft Security Essentials RTW! (No longer Beta)

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Ranma_Sao, Sep 29, 2009.

  1. Ranma_Sao

    Ranma_Sao 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,577
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
  2. huskerpat

    huskerpat Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    do we need to uninstall the beta and install this or will it update itself?
     
  3. QwertyJuan

    QwertyJuan [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,385
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2000
    yeah?
     
  4. AVT

    AVT [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,691
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Mine didn't update, so I reinstalled. The good part is that neither the uninstall nor the install required a reboot.
     
  5. QwertyJuan

    QwertyJuan [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,385
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2000
    QFT on both counts....
     
  6. 00PS

    00PS [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,799
    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    This is the correct version right? I don't remember what version the beta was...

    [​IMG]
     
  7. HardLiner

    HardLiner Gawd

    Messages:
    732
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    I uninstalled AVG and Ad-Aware so far I guess I like it.
     
  8. QHalo

    QHalo 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,433
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    This is the release version yes.
     
  9. Catweazle

    Catweazle 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,797
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Thank you! I've been waiting for this. The Beta was not made available here in Australia, and I've been loath to download it from Softpedia or the like.
     
  10. 00PS

    00PS [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,799
    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Thanks
     
  11. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,785
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    I just hit the ? Help and clicked Upgrade and it found and installed it.
     
  12. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,998
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    so is this going to replace your antivirus software? im using avira free version should i switch to this?
     
  13. QwertyJuan

    QwertyJuan [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,385
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2000
    Yes and yes!
     
  14. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,998
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    thanks! well said
     
  15. Catweazle

    Catweazle 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,797
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    No point having TWO running!

    I've today ditched whatever was on the various rigs here and replaced with MSE.
     
  16. gimp

    gimp [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,816
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    yup! the update section only updates the defs. The ? -> Upgrade upgraded to release build
     
  17. soulesschild

    soulesschild [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,026
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    I've been loving it. Finds stuff my corporate AVG can't find for shit.
     
  18. Sparkyy

    Sparkyy [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,167
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    I have this on my laptop that is still running Win 7 RC but on my gaming machine I have a 2 year, well I guess now a year and half license with NOD32.

    How good do you think MSE will be against NOD32 or Kaspersky?
     
  19. Lepard

    Lepard Gawd

    Messages:
    538
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Thank you for the update.
     
  20. Peteman100

    Peteman100 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,466
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Updated all my machines out of the beta. Thanks a bunch!
     
  21. Vermillion

    Vermillion 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,047
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Upgrades went quickly and painlessly on Windows 7 x64 RTM.

    Why no love for Windows Home Server though with Security Essentials? Are there plans to make it available for WHS?
     
  22. drdeutsch

    drdeutsch 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,783
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Downloaded it and will be installing on several computers to replace Avira. Installation and updating went fast. Already caught 1 trojan that Avira missed, as well.

    Can't wait for some test data to come out to show how this compares to other programs. I think AV-Comparatives only does Paid/Premium AV programs, right? Is there any site that tests the free AV programs for detection rates, false positives, etc?
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2009
  23. pcgeek11

    pcgeek11 n00b

    Messages:
    38
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    The beta tested very well!!!
    http://www.computerworld.com/s/arti...Microsoft_Security_Essentials_makes_the_grade

    AV-Test GmbH tested Microsoft Security Essentials, the free software Microsoft launched yesterday in beta, on Windows XP, Vista and Windows 7, putting it up against nearly 3,200 common viruses, bot Trojans and worms, said Andreas Marx, one of the firm's two managers. The malware was culled from the most recent WildList, a list of threats actually actively attacking computers.

    "All files were properly detected and treated by the product," said Marx in an e-mail. "That's good, as several other [antivirus] scanners are still not able to detect and kill all of these critters yet."

    AV-Test also measured Security Essentials against a set of in-house false positives to see whether the software mistakenly fingers legitimate files, a nightmare for users, who can be left with a crippled computer, and a disaster to the reputation of a security company.

    "None of the clean files were flagged as being malicious," noted Marx. "Very good."
     
  24. BuyakashaJew

    BuyakashaJew n00b

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Thanks. Now it is this vs AVIRA.... :D
     
  25. stop!theradio

    stop!theradio 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,534
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    I've been using the beta for the past couple months, and installed the new release yesterday. Still the same light, fast, and great program that it's always been. Good stuff :)
     
  26. arcturus

    arcturus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,182
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2000
    I won't miss the in-your-face window which always pimped the paid version when Avira updated. It was a fine AV otherwise.
     
  27. zmjone2992

    zmjone2992 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,034
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    I installed this just because, but I haven't had my machine infected in close to 3 years without any av protection. I just do not get why it is necessary if you aren't a moron who checks out super sketch sites all the time.
     
  28. LOCO LAPTOP

    LOCO LAPTOP [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,184
    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    I would only use this but it doesn't update behind a proxy server.
     
  29. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,330
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Because one of the fastest growing means of malware like rogues spreading is the fact that the guys that spread this malware hack into legit websites and inject the driveby code. I've had clients get whacked my PersonalAV and other rogues via this, I've even had it happen to myself when I was browsing one of the United Auto Workers (UAW) main websites last winter. One day you could log onto this forum here and get whacked.

    And it doesn't have to be an obvious rogue..there are plenty of botnet trojans out there which can silently install, and quietly run in the background of your PC...your PC is now a member of a botnet and you'll never know it.
     
  30. Jon55

    Jon55 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,352
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    No competition. Avira is very good, but MSE is better.
     
  31. QwertyJuan

    QwertyJuan [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,385
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2000
    mafiaboy! :D
     
  32. -Dragon-

    -Dragon- 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,320
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Is there an x64 download of this, or does the x86 version cover both systems?
     
  33. Vermillion

    Vermillion 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,047
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    There is an x86 and an x64 version.
     
  34. -Dragon-

    -Dragon- 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,320
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Apparently you have to look under languages and locales for the different versions, or maybe it auto detects your version and only gave me the x86 since I'm at work and that's what I'm on.
     
  35. Blackforge

    Blackforge Gawd

    Messages:
    715
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Works fine behind my work's proxy...
     
  36. yossarian

    yossarian Gawd

    Messages:
    798
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    It appears so. I have three computers using two versions, XP x86, Vista/Win 7 x64. When I updated them, they installed the proper version each time with no input from me.
     
  37. LOCO LAPTOP

    LOCO LAPTOP [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,184
    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    not the school proxy :rolleyes:
     
  38. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,785
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    You'll get definition updates through Windows Update.
     
  39. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,785
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    I want to add that the Windows Live Online Safety Scanner registry cleaner is wiping out the r-click Scan with Security Essentials option. It did it on my Vista system 2 months ago and it's still doing it on my 7 system.