Microsoft Security Essentials Beta Now Live!

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Ranma_Sao, Jun 23, 2009.

  1. Ranma_Sao

    Ranma_Sao 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,577
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
  2. Mabrito

    Mabrito [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,013
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Ill give it a shot. I switched to Win 7 RC yesterday and need a antivirus anyway.
     
  3. Vermillion

    Vermillion 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,048
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    I've got it installed on my laptop which is running Windows 7 x64 RC 7100.

    The MSE User Interface is lightweight and responsive. It's clean and easy to use. Only 3MB and it runs memory resident.

    The AntiMalware Service Executable is a service and weighs in at a hefty 53MB. In today's computers with 4+GB of RAM it's not a big deal but compared to Antivir being a whole 11MB is may make some people think twice about installing it.

    Hope av-comparatives.org takes a good look at the beta and tells us how well it cleans and scans though. That will be the decider for many.
     
  4. Sonicks

    Sonicks [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,408
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    I think the fact that it's an offical Microsoft Antivirus/Antispyware and that it's free is a deal maker for me. But if I notice a decrease in overall performance, even slightly, I'm uninstalling it.
     
  5. pxc

    pxc [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    33,105
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2000
    It's hard to complain about something free, but i'll give it a shot. :p I'll wait until there's a comparison to other AV/anti-malware packages. No rush since I don't run AV anyways.
     
  6. TheGamerZ

    TheGamerZ [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,217
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Seems to be fairly quick. Quick scan took less than 5 minutes on my machine. No noticeable impact on the system either.
     
  7. Ranma_Sao

    Ranma_Sao 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,577
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    It uses the same engine and sigs that are in Forefront, which we won Advanced+ for.
    This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
     
  8. rflcptr

    rflcptr [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,110
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    I like it. The exclusion filters are nice and easy to work with. It also doesn't have the kitchen sink approach (Security Essentials, anyone?) or the little annoyances that OneCare did. One thing that I noticed is that Windows Defender is turned off after this is installed. Not a complaint, just observation, so far.

    I'm trying a full scan and noticing very, very little CPU usage. edit: looking closer, all of a logical core on an i7. :p
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2009
  9. jasondean98

    jasondean98 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    278
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Not available in Austraila! Grrrrrrrrrrrrr
     
  10. Jutsu

    Jutsu [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,886
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Grrrrrrrrrrrr

    Too slow...
     
  11. Keiichi

    Keiichi [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,491
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    It's only available to people that are in the U.S., Brazil, and Israel.
     
  12. Atech

    Atech 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,983
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Just had to call a customer just like you...no AV.
    He was sending out +100 emails an hour, thought his rig was fine"as he knew what he was doing and didn't click bad links"...he was wrong.

    Told him to unplug the PC and before he plugged it in it had better be running AV, because otherwise we would terminate his line due to spam.
     
  13. knothead34

    knothead34 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,599
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    yeah there is no freaking way i would run any os wthout some sort of 3rd party security software. fine if you use your computer and never connect to the internet otherwise your asking for trouble.
     
  14. QwertyJuan

    QwertyJuan [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,385
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2000
    WRONG..... I'm in Canada, and I just downloaded it....
     
  15. /usr/home

    /usr/home [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,166
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
  16. brucedeluxe169

    brucedeluxe169 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,726
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    never got a chance to thank you for this... downloaded and installed on 3 PCs i own/maintain, and its done a great job for us so far (even detected some bad files on a computer that has been running for years)

    so thanks :)
     
  17. guppy

    guppy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    311
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Nor Canada!!!


    This beta is available only to customers in the United States, Israel (English only), People's Republic of China (Simplified Chinese only) and Brazil (Brazilian Portuguese only).


    WTF?
     
  18. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,786
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Can you imagine the EU going belligerent if this ever comes packaged with Windows?
     
  19. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,964
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Installed, and scanning now. So far, it seems very quick and light.
     
  20. QwertyJuan

    QwertyJuan [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,385
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2000
    I downloaded it in Canada... no idea what you are talking about....

    PS. I downloaded it when it first came available.... and now when I try to re-download, it says I can't.... :confused:
     
  21. brucedeluxe169

    brucedeluxe169 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,726
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    the beta isnt available from MS anymore... it went unavailable very shortly after it initially was.... thats why i necro'ed the thread, to thank the dude who posted the files
     
  22. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,964
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Sure it is. I was able to download it this morning.
     
  23. brucedeluxe169

    brucedeluxe169 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,726
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    well goddamn, i looked and looked and couldnt find it....

    coulda swore that it *did* go offline for a little while post-release.... i guess its possible that MS put it back up? either way, nice little program
     
  24. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,964
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    If you click the link, it will tell you to get the download from Connect. Once you login to Connect, you have to Apply, and fill out a basic form. Once you do, you're accepted, and you're given a download link.
     
  25. dx2

    dx2 Gawd

    Messages:
    545
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    says beta is closed for me....

    I'll give a full refresh a try...
     
  26. dx2

    dx2 Gawd

    Messages:
    545
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    still no love. Checked my technet subscription too and no downloads :(
     
  27. dx2

    dx2 Gawd

    Messages:
    545
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Got it now.

    Check out http://connect.microsoft.com

    1. Register
    2. Apply to MS Security Essentials Beta --> fill out survey
    3. THEN you get the download link.
     
  28. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,964
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    All you had to do was follow the steps I listed...above your three posts!
     
  29. dx2

    dx2 Gawd

    Messages:
    545
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    There are absolutely no download or links to connect on the link from the original post....

    I had to google "microsoft connect" and just thought i'd provide a little more color on the process.:rolleyes:
     
  30. /usr/home

    /usr/home [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,166
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Look on Page 1 for my post, I uploaded them to my server for public download.
     
  31. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,786
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    So far I really like this as a free AV product. The memory usage is a bit high but I can't notice any system performance loss. The only thing I dont' like about it is that when you update an definition and it installs, your PC locks up for about 5 seconds. Also, when it's scanning .cabs, etc., it really bogs the system down even if it's only using 50% or so of the cpu.
     
  32. guppy

    guppy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    311
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    It said not available in your country when I tried to download it from Canada.The small print on the page said exactly what I posted.
     
  33. Ranma_Sao

    Ranma_Sao 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,577
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    I take it you're doing Full Scans? It does take more I/O when doing an active full scan, due to it having to uncompress the cab to scan it.

    This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
     
  34. Joe Average

    Joe Average Ad Blocker - Banned

    Messages:
    15,462
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    That's my only "gripe" about it so far if I have one: the seemingly excessive CPU usage during a full scan. NOD32 doesn't hit this old Pentium D workstation that hard, nor did/does Avira, or some of the others I've tested.

    But during that update, or during a full scan or quick scan of individual files or directories, boy... even when I set the executables to low priority (which I think they should run at by default, but that's just me), it's a big hit on the system and I can't see why.

    Aside from that, I've got a few test archives with some buried trojans and I'm happy to report MSE picked 'em all off whereas even NOD32 missed several in recent testing and Avira missed just one. And they're not false positives either, the trojans exist 'cause I put 'em there myself. :)

    Overall, it's a great product in my testing, just that issue (for me, and it seems some others) of that way way high CPU use... might be resolved before it's finalized (and I wish they'd just make the executables run at low priority, I really, do but they won't).

    It's my AV of choice presently, until it gives me a reason to use something else.
     
  35. Vermillion

    Vermillion 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,048
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    I hope you two are sending feedback about those issues. ;)

    I've been using MSE on two different machines. Will probably move it to a third as well. I like it. Like Joe and bigdogchris said though it definitely eats into the CPU a little bit more then something like Avira does. Hopefully with enough feedback MS can improve on these issues and bring us a nice solid piece of security software.
     
  36. Jutsu

    Jutsu [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,886
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    I don't know how you managed to get it because I tired doing this a while ago and there is no survey available for MSE under its MS Connect page...
     
  37. TechieSooner

    TechieSooner [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,612
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Very unfortunate, it truly is. Having something that comes right out of the box makes everyone's PCs more secure.
     
  38. Joe Average

    Joe Average Ad Blocker - Banned

    Messages:
    15,462
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    I send so much feedback to Microsoft (and have done so since 1986) that I swear, I'm sure they have a file cabinet with my name on it someplace... ;)
     
  39. QwertyJuan

    QwertyJuan [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,385
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2000
    Yeah, they put it in the "Just your average Joe" file.... ;)
     
  40. Ranma_Sao

    Ranma_Sao 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,577
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    I understand that the CPU/I/O load is higher with a full scan, but can I ask is that a real concern? My feelings were users did full scans when they thought they were infected, and quick scans when not, so if full scan took a lot of I/O it was alright? Is this perception of the use case in error?

    This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.