Memtest86 question

Discussion in 'Memory' started by vegeta535, Jul 20, 2013.

  1. vegeta535

    vegeta535 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,322
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Is it possible for memtest to pass with out any error and ram still be bad. I have 4 sticks of Mushkin silver line memory and my system would crash on as soon as Windows loads. I isolated it that when only the bad stick is installed my system crashes. By itself and with all ram slot populated it passed several runs of memtest. My system been running fine since I took out the bad stick.

    4770k
    Galaxy 660TI
    Asus Z87-Plus
    Corsair 850 TX PS
    Crucial M400
    Mushkin Silverline 4GB PC3 12800 x4
     
  2. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,961
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Its possible the ram sticks are fine but arent quite getting enough voltage when the rest of the system is under load.
    So they past testing by themselves.

    Up the voltage a tiny amount.
     
  3. vegeta535

    vegeta535 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,322
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    I did that already by bumping the ram up to 1.6 and it still crashes with that 1 stick.
     
  4. adoch

    adoch [H]Lite

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Try running it longer? It keeps going indefinitely if you don't cancel.

    Or try something like prime95, using as much memory as possible.
     
  5. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,522
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Yes. Marginal ram sometimes takes days to find with Memtest86 even though the same ram can cause a BSOD quickly in windows.
     
  6. vegeta535

    vegeta535 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,322
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    I ran it over night and still nothing. I can't even get Prime95 running before it crashes. So I can assume the stick is bad still since it only crashes with that stick installed? System been running fine without it.
     
  7. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,961
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
  8. serpretetsky

    serpretetsky [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,703
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    did you try both sticks in the same socket? Just to make sure the socket isn't bad. Otherwise yeah, sounds like bad ram.
     
  9. vegeta535

    vegeta535 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,322
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Yes I tried them in all different sockets and problem persisted.
     
  10. Xeon79

    Xeon79 n00b

    Messages:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Bottom line is the stick is bad.
    If you can, return it and get another.
     
  11. larrymoencurly

    larrymoencurly [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,624
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Yes, because MemTest isn't a very good diagnostic, so try MemTest86, MemTest86+, and GoldMemory instead. And despite MemTest86+ being based on MemTest86, the two diagnostics often return different results. One person found no errors during 12-24 hours of testing with MemTest86 or 86+, but GoldMemory found a bad bit in 75 minutes. Then it ran for another 10 hours before finding the error again.
     
  12. cyclone3d

    cyclone3d [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,098
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004