Memory Upgrade For Threadripper 3970X Build?

dpriest

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 18, 2014
Messages
120
I'm considering upgrading my Threadripper 1950X rig to the 3970X. I currently have 4 x 8GB of Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200 as memory. I know the new memory comes in 3600, 4000 and up speed. I'm looking to squeeze as much performance out of the 3970X as possible. Would upgrading from my current memory to faster memory and overclocking it be worth it in performance? My current build has the memory set to XMP Profile. I would assume overclocking the memory with the 3970X is that simple as well?
 

Ramspeed

n00b
Joined
Jan 27, 2021
Messages
17
I'm considering upgrading my Threadripper 1950X rig to the 3970X. I currently have 4 x 8GB of Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200 as memory. I know the new memory comes in 3600, 4000 and up speed. I'm looking to squeeze as much performance out of the 3970X as possible. Would upgrading from my current memory to faster memory and overclocking it be worth it in performance? My current build has the memory set to XMP Profile. I would assume overclocking the memory with the 3970X is that simple as well?

Overclock those 3200 to 3600, they work wonderful.
 

tunatime

Well...OK
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,353
I'm considering upgrading my Threadripper 1950X rig to the 3970X. I currently have 4 x 8GB of Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200 as memory. I know the new memory comes in 3600, 4000 and up speed. I'm looking to squeeze as much performance out of the 3970X as possible. Would upgrading from my current memory to faster memory and overclocking it be worth it in performance? My current build has the memory set to XMP Profile. I would assume overclocking the memory with the 3970X is that simple as well?
Sweet spot for tr is 3600-3800 with as tight as timings as you can get and in some games it really does make a noticeable difference in minimum frame rate
 

dpriest

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 18, 2014
Messages
120
Sweet spot for tr is 3600-3800 with as tight as timings as you can get and in some games it really does make a noticeable difference in minimum frame rate
So I'm confused about a couple of things. Right now I have 3200 memory and in the bios I am selecting XMP 2.0 Profile 1 and setting the frequency to 3200. Can I clock this 3200 memory to 3600 or do I need to replace the memory with 3600? Can you please explain more about the timing, what it does , how it works and how to adjust it?
 

Ramspeed

n00b
Joined
Jan 27, 2021
Messages
17
So I'm confused about a couple of things. Right now I have 3200 memory and in the bios I am selecting XMP 2.0 Profile 1 and setting the frequency to 3200. Can I clock this 3200 memory to 3600 or do I need to replace the memory with 3600? Can you please explain more about the timing, what it does , how it works and how to adjust it?
Don´t use the xmp profile in the BIOS, leave it off.
Export in Taiphoon burner the XMP profile of the 3200 sticks.
Try the Ryzen Ram calculator, load the exported html file of xmp first and hit ¨calculate safe¨ to see what timings you need for 3600.
 

dpriest

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 18, 2014
Messages
120
Don´t use the xmp profile in the BIOS, leave it off.
Export in Taiphoon burner the XMP profile of the 3200 sticks.
Try the Ryzen Ram calculator, load the exported html file of xmp first and hit ¨calculate safe¨ to see what timings you need for 3600.
I'm sorry but I have no idea what this means. Any way to break it down with a step by step or tutorial?
 

AMDdog2020

n00b
Joined
Jan 30, 2021
Messages
2
Look up Ryzen Dram calculator with google. There's instructions how to do what Ramspeed said step by step. If you get the two programs thaipoon burner and ryzen ddr calculator you'll figure it out. You could have corsair 3200 b die and get it up to 3600. If not try slower till it works. If you want to get high speed low timings b-die kits are what to look for.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2021
Messages
24
I would second the above programs, got a pretty significant delta with a r3600, would imagine with quad channel threadripper would be more massive.

With ryzen mem calc you basically need to find out what chips are on your ram (like samsung or hynix and the revision)... then it will spit out all the values of the various timings and the speed you want. You can either go into the bios and enter these manually or use typhoon burner to do this for you.
 
Top