Memory testing software

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by daphatgrant, Sep 6, 2019.

  1. daphatgrant

    daphatgrant Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Hey all, I'd like to do some testing to make sure that my ram is stable. I'm not really looking to do anything crazy but just to have stable ram at the advertised speeds (if possible).

    I've got (ryzen3 build) (4) 8GB sticks of 3600 @ 16-16-16-36 Trident Z Neo that I've got working at the advertised speeds by enabling XMP. I'll attach a pic below.

    I'm wondering what I should use to test it to see if it's stable? I've run memtest86 and it was fine through all 4 passes. I was told to try memtest and did that through memtetshelper but I don't know how long I should let it run. Attached pic below.

    Screenshot 2019-09-06 13.01.57.png

    MemTesterHelp2.png
     
  2. owcraftsman

    owcraftsman Gawd

    Messages:
    810
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    I used to use Memtest86 to OC RAM that changed for me about 10 years ago when clocks/timings attained outside of the OS weren't stable when used in the windows environment.
    I like HCI Design's Memtest which I purchased back around 2006. The creator has since improved the app some call it the Ryzen DRAM Calculator. It has a plethora of new features and a Benchmark tool, but still called Memtest.
    https://www.tomshardware.com/news/dram-calculator-for-ryzen-integrated-benchmark,39318.html
    It would appear you are familiar with it, it is the best thing going to test and tune memory at this time IMHO
     
  3. daphatgrant

    daphatgrant Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    That's a bit of an overstatement, lol. I ran it for an hour earlier as individual instances but then got the MemtestHelper and ran that in safe mode till it reached 500%. If what I've been doing with Memtest is the way to go is there a minimum length of time to let it run?
     
  4. chameleoneel

    chameleoneel 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,016
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    I have use HCI's memtest to successfully detect errors caused by an overclock which seemed stable, but was actually too high.

    Prime 95 also has a mode which focuses more on RAM.
     
  5. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,563
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    I normally only run it for a few(3-4) passes. others insist on 4+ hours or overnight.
     
  6. somebrains

    somebrains Gawd

    Messages:
    663
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    I run a couple passes, then grab 4 Boddingtons and play CoD for the entire afternoon.
    Whatever max value I’m getting in synthetics ends up needing a tweak in real life workflows.
     
  7. Darth Ender

    Darth Ender Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    376
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Memory testing within a full os like windows will always leave a significant amount of memory untestable. That's why memtest86 is something you boot straight into.

    Less of an issue for playing with oc'ing. More of an issue when investigating bad ram.

    Something to keep in mind