looking for a 24 port GOOD gigabit switch

maxedoutcc

Gawd
I'm doing some networking for a game company and I need to find a good true gigabit switch that is

a. stackable
b. 1000mb over all ports
c. reliable.

They currently have a netgear gigabit switch but it keeps crapping on them. and its only an 8 port and they really need more. I looked at cisco but more of the ones I saw are POE and I dont need POE for anything and would like to find a slightly cheaper alternative.

thanks in advance for any advice.

check dell, hp procurve, or 3com....

google for "managed layer 3 switches"....they will be a little cheaper than cisco, but not by much.

#1 cisco
#2 HP procurve
#3 whouldn't buy anything else for a bsuiness.

If they're on a tight budget, you might look at some of the Hawking Technologies products. I've been using an HGS16S for a few years at home (in an aggressive home office setup) and haven't had any problems with it. You should be able to find it for less than $300, and it supports jumbo frames.

I'm doing some networking for a game company and I need to find a good true gigabit switch that is

a. stackable
b. 1000mb over all ports
c. reliable.

They currently have a netgear gigabit switch but it keeps crapping on them. and its only an 8 port and they really need more. I looked at cisco but more of the ones I saw are POE and I dont need POE for anything and would like to find a slightly cheaper alternative.

thanks in advance for any advice.

Cisco Catalyst 3750G-24T

Only switch that covers all your needs, of course i've used the 3com variant and it was a POS.

EDIT: You could go with a Cisco Catalyst 3560G-24TS but it does not support "stacking".

Stackable? Netgear has 24/48p full gig switches with 10g stacking rings also (slightly expensive, well worth cost though). I dont know to be exact whether hp/cisco have stackable.

Cisco Catalyst 3750G-24T

Only switch that covers all your needs, of course I’ve used the 3com variant and it was a POS.