Logitech Z-5500 Help - Speaker Out

hhara

Gawd
This has been an issue for a couple of years now. Basically, the left speaker will randomly stop working. It will continue to stop working for anywhere from a day to a month, and then randomly begin working again.

I have done a couple of things to try and diagnose the issue and I already know that the issue lies with the sub woofer. This is because the outlet is the issue and not the actual speaker. I can plug the front left speaker into the front right outlet (or any other outlet) and the speaker will work fine. Furthermore I know its not something computer related because the "Test" option on the remote (which sends a "Pink Noise" to each speaker) does not work for the front left outlet.

I am a Computer Engineer and Electrical Engineer (currently obtaining this Bachelors degree) and I have opened the sub woofer just to take a peak around. Everything looks in working order but I am not sure exactly what could be causing the issue. I suppose I could upload a few pictures of the inside of the sub if that sounds helpful.

The strangest part to me is how it randomly works and stops working. When it does work it continues to work and then just turns off regardless of how long I continuously play sounds through it or how loud they are.

Anyone have any tips or ideas?

Thanks

You may truly laugh at this, but does this occur with weather or climate changes? Say for example it is hot at your house one day and cold the next, or the A/C is on one day and off the next. The sub may be expanding and contracting and that is causing the short when a connection is pinched.

Cheers,
Earl Keim
Audio Editor
HardOCP.com

Last edited:
You may truly laugh at this, but does this occur with weather or climate changes? Say for example it is hot at your house one day and cold the next, or the A/C is on one day and off the next. The sub may be expanding and contracting and that is causing the short when a connection is pinched.

Cheers,