Live Cloning

Discussion in 'General Software' started by DeaconFrost, Jan 8, 2020.

  1. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,130
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    How is the state of live cloning? I have a operations center that doesn't like downtime, and I wanted to clone one of the workstations from a 500 GB spinner to a 1 TB SSD. I see that Acronis True Image claims to be able to clone a running system to an external USB drive (which could be the SSD), minimizing my downtime.

    How well does that work? Is there better software? Ideally, I'd love to let the cloning run, and when finished, power off, swap the drives, and power back up.
     
  2. Legendary Gamer

    Legendary Gamer Gawd

    Messages:
    748
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    You have a better chance of doing it with sheep. :eek:
     
  3. grim4593

    grim4593 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    242
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    I would like to know of some proven solutions as well. We have computers at work that run multiple test stations that may run for 15-30 days at a time. There is never any down time unless the hydraulic pumps go down. Options are limited since the machines are currently airgapped (until my request for a test lab network goes through).
     
  4. Puterguru

    Puterguru 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,059
    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Take a look at this. I've used their software in the past (although not the live clone feature) and it works well.

    https://www.ubackup.com/features/disk-clone.html

    "AOMEI Backupper provides the corresponding function of disk clone, which can clone one disk to another without breaking off the running operating system (It is called "Live Disk Cloning"). That is to say, it can clone while you are working on the computer."
     
  5. cyclone3d

    cyclone3d [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,183
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Any of the good cloning software for windows uses the shadow-copy feature in Windows.

    The Samsung data migration tool works perfectly. I have used it multiple times and never had any issue. Clone drive, power down system, remove old drive, install new drive if you had it hooked up via USB to clone, boot up with new drive.

    It really is that simple.
     
  6. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    17,147
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    I use Paragon's Migrate OS to SSD which is now part of their Hard Disk Manager program.
    I've had nearly 100% success rate, did over 100 clones since 2012 with the program and had maybe 2 not work.

    I used the Samsung Magician program when I got my 1TB 860 and it failed twice. Fired up Paragon and 15 minutes later I was up and running on the 860. Wasted almost an hour with the Samsung app.
     
  7. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,749
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Sounds like you need to set these server hosts up in the future on a vmware infrastructure where you can snapshot or clone at will. You can migrate everything live from host to host without issue.
     
    cyclone3d likes this.
  8. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,130
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    These aren't servers. They are physical machines. We have over 400 servers in our ESXi environment running on two vBlocks. I'd love to have these workstations act as dumb terminals connecting in to a virtualized setup, but they need between 4 and 8 displays running on each.