Linux Machine Router?

Decker87

Limp Gawd
Hi. I have a copy of Linux Linspire which I'm ready to try using. I've never used Linux before, but when the idea of having a separate computer for torrents came about, I remembered I'd heard you can use a Linux machine as a wireless router.

How is this done?
Will it handle torrents better than a cheap netgear router?
What sort of specs do I need for this?
Can I use a windows machine to remotely control a linux machine?

generally its done using distributions like IPCop and Smoothwall, i dont know how efficient it would be on linspire

yes, it should handle all network traffic better, but you might have a bit of trouble setting up the wireless at first

specs - basically any old computer lying around

yes, using a program called Putty

That's all what I wanted to hear. Currently my wireless router is being killed by torrents because of all the connections.

I was thinking about using Linspire because it costs $50 and I got it for free, so I figured its probably better than most free ones.

Essentially what I want to do is have one machine:
-act as a wireless router for at least 50ft, through a floor+walls
-run a torrent client (are there any good ones for linux?)
-run an ftp server
-possibly act as a genesis emulator

Is this possible? I was looking into the possibility of using a VIA mobo.

What you want to do are two separte things.

First off, just because it normally costs money doesn't make it all around better. As a router monowall, IPcop, or pfSense (my favorite) would be the distro of choice. They are all light on resources and are designed as a router/firewall. As such, they are very secure and easy to setup. Most people just grab an old box, get it installed, and then run it headless (no monitor). All of these distros are designed to be controlled/admin'ed through a web interface.