Linksys WRT54G problem

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by hoangtastic, Mar 8, 2006.

  1. hoangtastic

    hoangtastic n00b

    Messages:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    :mad: hey guys i have a WRT54G version 3 and once in awhile i would get nasty high ping like 250+ when gaming when regular it would be 30-50... its been becoming more frequent.. ive tried so much crap it works for about 20mins then its back to ultra high ping, anyone have a fix??
     
  2. Asgorath

    Asgorath [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,253
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    what firmware are you running?

    also, any bittorrent traffic in your network?
     
  3. hoangtastic

    hoangtastic n00b

    Messages:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    currently im using version 3.03.6, no theres bittorrent traffic, ive tried pretty much all the compatable firmwares
     
  4. Fark_Maniac

    Fark_Maniac 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,438
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    are you using wired or wireless? have you updated the NIC drivers?
     
  5. hoangtastic

    hoangtastic n00b

    Messages:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    i am wired to my router.. i tried downloading the drivers for the NIC off of asus but once i tried to install it, it sayed processor type not supported? any other suggestions, im serious im about to smash this piece router to bits pretty soon if i cant fix this problem :mad:
     
  6. Asgorath

    Asgorath [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,253
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    try direct connecting to modem
     
  7. hoangtastic

    hoangtastic n00b

    Messages:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    yea when i connect directly connect to the modem the ping is fine...
     
  8. Vulcanus

    Vulcanus [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,160
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2001
    I'm having the sam problem with my v.3

    connect to the modem and its fine.
    connect to the router (wired) wireless disabled and it'll jump around from 18ms to 300+



    I'm currently using DD-WRT, although it does the same thing with linksys firmware as well (4.20.7)