Lines on display

hipsterdoofus

Limp Gawd
Hey guys, I built an HTPC awhile back. My primary tv is not an HDTV, but my HD TV in my bedroom is connected via an xbox 360. I've noticed on some shows (currently I only notice it on cartoons my daughter is watching) that when there is quick movement on the screen, I see a series of lines on the tv. At first I thought it was just on my older tv and figured it had to do with resolution, but I noticed it on my HD TV as well. Haven't really noticed it on regular shows but maybe its just more noticeable due to the colors on cartoons. Anyway, I'm fairly new at all this so I'm curious if anyone has any ideas on this.

It actually sounds like tearing. You need to post your HTPC's specs and TV model numbers.

It actually sounds like tearing. You need to post your HTPC's specs and TV model numbers.

Ok, heres the htpc spec:

ASUS M3N78-EM AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 8300 HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
AMD Athlon X2 4850e 2.5GHz Socket AM2
WD Green Caviar 1TB HD
2 Gig RAM

- I also am running this all off of a Radeon HD 4350, not the built in video - because my living room TV is an old tube tv and needed the S-Video out.

Now, I can see that S-Video connection causing me problems - the issue is, I have a Sanyo 26" 720p HDTV in the bedroom and the same thing happens on it, so it does not appear to be video card related. As I mentioned, I really notice it most on cartoons, but it may be happening on other shows and just not noticing - basically after a quick movement, there are a series of thing lines on the screen just briefly. Thanks for your comments everyone!

Quick movement and lines??? Sounds like a de-interlacing problem.

Anything resembling this??

http://www.digital-rapids.com/Resources/Preprocessing/Preprocessing2.aspx