Least expensive way to get Windows?

Hello [H] friends! What is the least expensive (legal) way to get Windows nowadays? How do you guys usually get your OS? I'm putting together a couple of budget rigs for the kids to use and its hard to spend $100 each for a copy of Windows...especially when I'm only spending a few hundred dollars on the hardware itself for BOTH systems. May just go with Linux to save that money. ;)

Last edited:
OEM is the cheapest legal way to get it. $100 is a bite especially when that makes it the most expensive part in a budget build but ya gotta have it. Considering what all it does and how good it is, $100 really isn't that bad of a price.

If you're a student you can sometimes get it for like $30 or so.

As an IT student, I got 1 free copy of Windows 7 pro and I got a Windows 7 home for $30. Besides that, not much you can do besides get the OEM

EDIT: Apparently the student discount for upgrade version is $68 now...I miss the $30 deal.

Last edited:
yep. knowing a college student is best. there are millions of college kids who dont use theirs every year. i know when i was in school we got 2 copies of win 7 for free and none of my friends knew about it. got any young cousins, or old nieces and nephews? :)

I wonder how much companies like HP or Dell pay for each copy. I mean they sell a complete system for $300...how do they make any money?

remove the cd key sticker from a dell computer and stick it on your computer and input that key?

i thought those keys were tied to the mobo?

Na those keys are not tied to the mobo.

Dell install disks all have oem cert build in. The oem cert will auto activate dell computer because the bios have the other part of the oem code.

The sticker they put on the computer is really for installing windows using some other oem disk or retail disk. That cd key is like a real key that can work on other computers just fine.