Learning Java

MTXR

[H]ard|Gawd
Hello [H],

I searched the web via google and tons of hits pop up...but which site is really good?

Can the [H] help me and list some great sites you have already used to learn java?

I am a total newb to Java but have programmed in VB before.

So i should hopefully pick up this language fairly easily, lets hope anyway.

Thanks.

java is quite different than VB, both in syntax and in the environment. But you should be able to pick it up alright. I am speaking as a person who doesn't know java yet, but know about java, and know c# and c++. I need to learn it here soon since all my team at work seems to use java. I haven't decided how I am going to learn it but I plan to just download the Java EE SDK and eclipse and come up with some use cases for myself and bang it out by googling for whatever I need to know and asking the guys I work with for help when I get stuck. In my opinion once you learn c++ most other languages are easy to learn. VB is not bad though because at least you learn the basic control structures like if, while, for, switch, etc. I do hate VB though every time I see code examples on MSDN. It seems like each line is written backwards to me... that's just cause I write in c# though.

Dim x as Integer
versus
int x;

seems wrong to me cause the data type is on the right not the left. Not saying it is wrong, just to me it seems that way cause that's the way I think.

Oh crazy, you scared me... it's that different? it can't be can it?

Good page. Suns website has a lot of good stuff.

Also what type of java are you looking to learn? SE, ME or EE?

I still don't have a really firm grasp on what "Java EE" really is or where one would start - it seems to be a really big umbrella encompassing dozens of vaguely related technologies with no clear entry point.

Which version of Java do you recommend learning? I think i would do a lot of web stuff though and multimedia...