Kaby Lake Pentium Processors Get Hyper-Threading

Discussion in '[H]ard|OCP Front Page News' started by Megalith, Jan 10, 2017.

  1. Megalith

    Megalith 24-bit/48kHz Staff Member

    Messages:
    9,046
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    The obvious relevance here is that older Pentiums did not have hyper-threading. With HT enabled, these processors could very well perform on par with an i3 and would make them a great choice for budget systems. We can only speculate why Intel allowed this, however.

    Historically, last-generation Pentium processors only had two cores and never, ever had hyper-threading enabled. This new feature will make the 60-Euro ($63) processors behave and likely perform at Core i3-level performance. The one thing the Pentium will not support is the AVX2 instruction set, which mainly is handy and very fast with video editing/transcoding. It might be a terrific processor for a low-cost net PC. Hyper-threading has been verified with Intel. It is not a typo in the ARK processor database.
     
    Jim Kim likes this.
  2. Jim Kim

    Jim Kim Gawd

    Messages:
    949
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor 631 supporting HT Technology

    The more things change, the more they stay the same.
     
  3. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,358
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Nothing to do with AMD's impending launch of course. ;)
     
    Stryker7314 likes this.
  4. MrCaffeineX

    MrCaffeineX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,392
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Were Pentiums like the G3258 designed from the ground up without HyperThreading, or were they Core i3s that had HT disabled in order to function properly?
     
  5. whateverer

    whateverer AMD Owns Techreport

    Messages:
    583
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    The existing Pentiums likely have fully-functional HT, just switched-off.

    Just like the i3 has support for 256-bit-wide AVX, while the Pentium falls back to 128-bit-wide SSE. They both still execute vector instructions, so I'm not sure they could sever broken vector units like that so cleanly.

    Likely, they're just disabled for product segmentation.

    I'd say the only things that might actually be disabled due to yield issues are L3 cache blocks. But even then if the process gets older and higher-yield, Intel may just cut good cache lines to continue the segmentation.

    But yeah, this Pentium gets HT thing is long-overdue. AMD's been pricing their Steamroller/Excavator quads below $100, so Intel needs four threads to be competitive. Their Celeron at $45 is still unmatched by AMD's crappy dual-cores, and the Core i3 6100 is pretty powerful, but Intel's Pentium has been lacking since the Haswell refresh, leaving a huge gap.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2017
  6. MrCaffeineX

    MrCaffeineX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,392
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    That makes sense. AMD is pushing more cores/threads again, so its all marketing at this point.
     
  7. bugleyman

    bugleyman [H]Lite

    Messages:
    73
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Acknowledgement that 2 threads just isn't enough any more?

    Great news in any event...$64 for 4 threads with Intel IPC? Yes, please.
     
    Dayaks likes this.
  8. 5icko

    5icko Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    464
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    PLEASE Ryzen...

     
  9. Nenu

    Nenu Pick your own.....you deserve it.

    Messages:
    16,775
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    I get it.
    Intel are doing HT squared for the i5 and higher processors, so lower processors get ye basic HT now.
    All i5+ cores and HT units will get another level of HT, just cos.
    :p
     
  10. pxc

    pxc Pick your own.....you deserve it.

    Messages:
    35,300
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2000
    Who knows? AMD hasn't even given a launch date for Ryzen, and details of lower end products are still completely unknown (no clock speed, cache sizes, release dates, whether or not SMT will be enabled on all models, etc).

    CPUs can have various specs and prices tweaked to improve competitiveness, but HT coming back to Pentiums was leaked way back in early October from engineering samples out in the wild, and the decision to enable it would have been made at least months prior to that. IOW, while AMD was still dodging questions about whether Zen had finished tape out or not, a decision was already made to release Pentiums with Hyperthreading. :p
     
    drescherjm likes this.
  11. SvenBent

    SvenBent [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,240
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    looking into prices it seems like i kinda do love those pentiums getting HT they would be nice for small acceleration boxes. if the price can be keept low
     
  12. whateverer

    whateverer AMD Owns Techreport

    Messages:
    583
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    I dunno man, there's nothing set in stone. When Intel came up with the Core i naming system nine years back, they left a lot up in the air. I mean, there were quad core i5s without HT, and dual-core i5s WITH HT and integrated graphics.

    The product lines change as the performance needs increase. Unfortunately, there's been a dearth of 6-core capable software, aside from video transcode.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2017
  13. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,358
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    I think it would be naive to think Intel doesn't know how AMD performs as soon as they do.
     
  14. Nenu

    Nenu Pick your own.....you deserve it.

    Messages:
    16,775
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    I tried to make it absurd enough so nobody could possibly think I was serious.
    Oh well :)
     
  15. Uvaman2

    Uvaman2 Gawd

    Messages:
    697
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Unlike AMD, Intel are jerks for cutting features out of CPU offerings.. I get it, no real competition.. I hope AMD doesn't do the same crap with Ryzen, I don't think they will, they are not in the position to do so, even if their CPU is that much better.
     
  16. pxc

    pxc Pick your own.....you deserve it.

    Messages:
    35,300
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2000
    It's even more naïve to assume that Intel knows AMD CPU performance before there's even silicon made, because that's what I was pointing out.
     
  17. ZodaEX

    ZodaEX 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,010
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    WRONG. AMD has disabled cores on their 6 core dies for product segmentation thousands of times for their Phenom II X4 cpu lineup Don't lie.
     
    Krazy925 likes this.
  18. Uvaman2

    Uvaman2 Gawd

    Messages:
    697
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2017
  19. LordVTP

    LordVTP n00bie

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    The real question is are mobo makers going to be able to sneak past intel that sweet non k OC potential from skylake onto these? Pushing one of these to 5ghz would make paying for the i-3 k chip a joke!
     
  20. chameleoneel

    chameleoneel 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,588
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Might be something to do with a couple of high profile games requiring more than two threads.
     
  21. Shintai

    Shintai 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    You mean direct dumb console porting where core 0 and 1 is locked to the OS.