Jobs in IT, requiring networking knowledge or what?

frankyk

Gawd
I'm a fresh college graduate, in Economics

I really don't like Economics that much, but want to go into business with some IT stuff also. Eventually I'm thinking of getting a Masters of Information Systems Management or a MBA with an IT focus.

I'm like a lot of people who likes computer/network stuff and knows a fair share, but nothing extraordinary, just a little bit of everything.

What are some essential IT skills that I should learn to make myself competitive?

I obviously can't go the engineering route or computer science since I don't have that background and it would probably take a long time to learn programming.

What are some stuff that I can learn on my own that would definitely be helpful in an IT environment/workplace? Basically, there is always on the job training, but before then, what do I need to possess in my resume/skill section to get myself the interview/job.

Are network administrators fun? Does it require much? Is the pay OK? What other kind of IT jobs are interesting that has a business focus too maybe?

Also, any good books I can get at Barnes and Noble or something? Not textbooks since I don't have any place that sells them.

Think about what area you want to get into. I got into small business network consulting a few years ago, you start out working for a place that implements/supports networks at smaller businesses. Like law firms, accounting offices, health care agencies, dentist offices, manufacturing plants, etc etc. Basically every type of business you drive by..that has computers..a network of say under 75 nodes. It's a field that's absolutely EXPLOADED in demand. I love it..something different all the time. None of the "same ol' same ol' report to your cubicle" stuff.

start thinking about your answer for the inevitable question:

"So we see that you have an economics degree. Why do you want to work as an 'X' in our company?"