Is this the entire Intel Mac lineup?

Rocketpig

[H]ard|Gawd
I'm curious to hear what you guys think about the introduction of the Mac Pro... For me, it's complete overkill and it's about $600-$1000 more than I want to spend for a machine.

I'm a graphic designer who occasionally games. When I lived in the PC world (I run a 2003 server and my last "PC" was a 1.8 P4), I built my own machines and customized them as necessary. While I'm not a tech-freak, I have maintained a 20+ computer network and know my way around a machine pretty damned well. When I started buying Apples (when I got into the design industry), I always knew the customizing would be limited.

Anyway, back to the point. While I currently own an Intel iMac, it was never meant to be a permanent machine for me. Why? Because I want a tower. Something that I can change around and most importantly, something that allows me to buy my own monitor(s) and change them at will, replace them, etc.

There is absolutely nothing in Apple's lineup for me right now and I'm damned disappointed about it. The Mac Pro is just too much money and machine for what I need and the iMac is an all-in-one solution. The Mini isn't powerful enough.

So, how many of you think that Apple will be coming out with a stand-alone computer in the $1299-1999 price range? With the Intel switch, it seems obvious to me that they are missing a huge portion of the market here. A Core 2 Duo with an *upgradable* video card would fit the bill nicely. And yes, I'd be willing to pay the "Apple Tax" for it.

Who else is waiting for a machine like this? I can't be the only one...

I'm sure there is a bit of demand for a machine like that, although I don't know if Apple will satisfy that demand...

You know, you can dual boot a PC now to run OSX. You don't have to go with proprietary overpriced mac/apple hardware. ;)

w1retap said:
You know, you can dual boot a PC now to run OSX. You don't have to go with proprietary overpriced mac/apple hardware. ;)