Is there any way to do a search for what file ISN'T in a folder?

Celestial Avenger

Limp Gawd
Let's say I've got like.. 18,000 folders, and every one of them has to have the same default.asp file in it. I need to be able to find the folders that don't have this fast.

Thanks.

You could write a script that goes through all the folders and checks if the file doesn't exist in it, and if it doesn't exist, then it prints the path to a text file.

BillLeeLee said:
You could write a script that goes through all the folders and checks if the file doesn't exist in it, and if it doesn't exist, then it prints the path to a text file.

That's be great if I knew how!
:D

Celestial Avenger said:
That's be great if I knew how!
:D

Are you running windows? Do you have any scripting support like Perl/Python, or just what Windows provides?

I'll see if I can whip up something for ya.

Okay, you're in luck (I think). I'm not too good with VBScripting, but I whipped this up and it should do what you want.

Code:
Dim strTopPath
' set strTopPath to the top level directory to search
strTopPath = "d:\testdir"

Dim objFS
Dim outputFile
Set objFS = CreateObject("scripting.filesystemobject")
Set outputFile = objFS.createtextfile("C:\defaultSearch.txt", True)

RecurseFind (objFS.getfolder(strTopPath)), outputFile
MsgBox "Search finished"

Sub RecurseFind(objCWD, objOutputFile)

Dim strFileName
	Dim objSubfolder
	Dim objTempFS
	Set objTempFS = CreateObject("scripting.filesystemobject")
	strFileName = "default.asp"

Dim strFilePath
	strFilePath = CStr(objCWD.path) & "\" & strFileName

If (objTempFS.FileExists(strFilePath) = false) Then
		objOutputFile.writeline CStr(objCWD.path)
	End If

'go through all subdirectories
	For Each objSubfolder in objCWD.subFolders
		RecurseFind objSubfolder, objOutputFile
	Next

End Sub

Yes, it is ugly and I probably didn't code it very well, but I just learned VBScript this week so I'm still rough. :D