Is there an issue with my SSD?

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by Bageland2000, Sep 1, 2019.

  1. Bageland2000

    Bageland2000 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    291
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    I’m having an issue with things loading really slowly all of the sudden on my Dell XPS 15 (9550). I wish I could say what changed right before this started, but I can’t. Seems like everything I try to do is slow, like it’s struggling to read from the NVMe (maybe? Still trying to figure out the problem). One thing that happened for instance recently was that I tried to install the latest 960M driver. The package extraction process took like three minutes. Then, the installation process took about ten minutes. Also, for instance, when I click on “This PC” It takes a few seconds to come up, and the progress bar in the folder path area just continues to progress slowly.

    xRPO2cg.png

    I ran Crystal Bench, from what I can tell, the speeds are fine, but I don’t totally know what I’m looking for:

    4yxq0Yw.png

    CPU usage during is around 30%, memory utilization is around 50% during some loads (like installing the driver package.) Can anyone help me figure out what the issue is? Drivers/BIOS are all the latest, windows is fully updated. Plenty of SSD capacity unused. I can’t think of the next troubleshooting step…
     
  2. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,457
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Some networking timeout?
     
  3. Bageland2000

    Bageland2000 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    291
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Don't think so. The mapped drives are super stable, and I don't think network issues would cause the behavior I saw in the compressed install package taking forever to extracts. This just happened too BTW...

    SNS282F.jpg

    I had another recent BSOD for memory management...
     
  4. Bageland2000

    Bageland2000 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    291
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    I keep opening "This PC" and it is taking forever to show all the drives. Is there any way to "ask" the computer, "which drive are you looking for that you can't find?" I feel like that's the keep to the lack of responsiveness on my PC.
     
  5. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,457
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    resource monitor?
     
  6. Denpepe

    Denpepe [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,141
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Did you check top see if windows is working on downloading updates in the background?
     
  7. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,843
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Go into the bios setup and slow your memory down.
    See if that helps.
     
  8. Bageland2000

    Bageland2000 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    291
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    I'll open that up and get back to you on this.

    It's not. Irt's fully up-to-date and not working on new ones

    I guess I can try this, but I don't think the memory freqs have changed recently, so not sure why this would be the culprit.
     
  9. Brian_B

    Brian_B 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,125
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Have you checked temps? Sounds like it may be overheating and throttling -- like an internal fan stopped working or something.
     
  10. Bageland2000

    Bageland2000 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    291
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    I'll pop AIDA64 open and check, but I don't think that's what's going on.
     
  11. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,843
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    When something has failed its wise to consider that something has failed.
     
  12. SvenBent

    SvenBent 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,041
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    check smart info
    crystal disk info can be used for that
     
  13. Schmeisser

    Schmeisser n00b

    Messages:
    35
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Totally agree that you should check the smart of the drive first. Smart should show you if the drive has any issues. In addition, you can try to boot from Live USB and check the SSD.
     
  14. Bageland2000

    Bageland2000 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    291
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    I ran AIDA64 stress test for 20 minutes. The temps barely budget and didn't come close to causing throttling.

    I used crystal disk to check, looks like no SMART issues at all.

    OK, so I opened Chrome and four game launchers (Blizz, Steam, GOG, and Epic). I noticed some serious program hangs, so I opened resource manager and saw I was at 80% RAM utilization and seeing about 50-800 memory hard faults/sec. Could it simply be that 8Gb is not enough RAM? I think maybe those slow downs were hard disk thrashing?
    https://appuals.com/hard-faults-per...faults are a normal,the physical memory (RAM).

    IDK, it doesn't seem like it would explain why extracting a driver package took forever when I didn't have any other programs open... Still trying to find out what might be going on.
     
  15. SvenBent

    SvenBent 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,041
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    chek ressoruce monitor you can direclty see if system is acdessing pagefile alot under the hdd section. but it does look like a lot of swapping
     
  16. Maxx

    Maxx [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,458
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    What drive is it? Your sequential write speed seems to be outside the SLC cache and your 4K results are generally quite poor for NVMe. Give the sequential read speed, I'm guessing it's a 4-channel controller or otherwise limited to x2 PCIe 3.0 or x4 PCIe 2.0, or both (some Dells limit to GT2/x2 but that's mostly the 13", but could be related). Post the CrystalDiskInfo please.
     
  17. Ranulfo

    Ranulfo [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,557
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Might breakout the memtest as well.
     
  18. Bageland2000

    Bageland2000 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    291
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    EK0Lsa4.png
     
  19. Maxx

    Maxx [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,458
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Thanks. Samsung's OEM drives start with "PM" if they're TLC-based ("3-bit MLC") and "SM" if they're MLC-based ("2-bit MLC"). The numbers following tell you the generation; the PM951 comes prior to the 960 EVO (PM961) and so utilizes 2D/planar TLC and the older ARM Cortex-R4 based UBX controller. These technical details likely don't mean much to you and that's fine.

    It is possible to use the Samsung NVMe driver for these drives. I have a post on Reddit that includes a link to the driver as well as a pre-extracted version if necessary (depends on OS). Further, the lower section of my post details how to make a bootable Linux drive if you want to check error logs and such outside of the Windows environment.

    Despite its age, the drive supports x4 PCIe 3.0; this is not listed under "Transfer Mode" in your CDI screenshot. You can try the program Hard Disk Sentinel and see if it has information on this. However, your performance results don't seem too far off for that drive, and I don't see any other issues with the SMART data, although you might want to check the error logs as there appears to be a lot (this is not atypical for OEM Samsung drives).
     
    Bageland2000 likes this.
  20. Bageland2000

    Bageland2000 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    291
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Thank you! I understand the basics of what you said regarding the drives specs. I will definitely look into using the Samsung NVMe driver as you outlines there.
     
  21. Nside

    Nside Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    251
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    I'm going to assume you aren't trying to run two antivirus programs simultaneously. This is always my FIRST thought when I see performance issues like this, but usually it's on machines belonging to people that don't know a damn thing about computers. You seem more than competent, but double check installed programs anyway, something might have sneaked in on you during an install of another program.

    Also, your RAM usage does seem a bit high. I also assume you've tried shutting it down, leaving it completely off for a minute or so, then restarting it. A memory leak could be the culprit, and is hard to narrow down because it won't show in processes.

    If it isn't doubled-up antivirus, and doesn't fix itself on cold start, this honestly sounds like a Windows issue to me, either a weird services issue, or god knows what (Thanks Windows 10!). Try running in Safe Mode to see if you still have the same problem, though it could still be Windows even if the problem persists in Safe Mode. It's just a good way to limit the number of running services. Seems Windows 10 devs like to use us as Beta Testers.

    A fresh install might be in order if you can't narrow it down though. I would try that first before buying a new drive. Then if the new install doesn't work, you aren't out much time reinstalling again on a new drive. Or clone the drive if you have another NVMe slot or external adapter you can use. I would recommend going ahead and updating the RAM at this point too while you have the machine torn apart. We're right at that point where 8GB just isn't enough IMHO.
     
  22. westrock2000

    westrock2000 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,051
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    22TB of reads, 11TB of writes? Did you buy this drive used?
     
  23. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 Gawd

    Messages:
    1,023
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    kek, my PM SSD has almost 100 tb of read/writes on it, under 25TB is pretty low.
     
    Nside likes this.
  24. Nside

    Nside Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    251
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Yeah, for a main drive, that's not a ton if it's a few years old. I have similar sized drives with well over 100TB writes, who cares about reads though?
     
  25. Bageland2000

    Bageland2000 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    291
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    That's correct. I run Malwarebytes alone. I assume that having Windows Defender enabled in its default status would not be causing issues.

    Yes, I've done this several times over the last few weeks

    That's what I've been thinking with the BSODs and such. Trying to keep all the possibilities open though.

    Obviously trying to avoid that, but it's clearly an option. I think that RAM upgrade is my best option. Probably would be a benefit even if there's a separate root cause.

    I did indeed.

    Do we need to have a Zoolander walk-off now?
     
  26. westrock2000

    westrock2000 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,051
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    sam-SUNG <cough cough> sam-SUNG

    I tried.