Is Foxconn the only mATX that allows changes to vCore?

Solar

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 16, 2005
Messages
228
I've been looking at the motherboard list in the sticky and googling like crazy, so far the only board that seems to have any BIOS based CPU voltage control is the Foxconn 6150K8MA-8EKRS. DFI does to (and thats an RS482), but I don't want to pay $100 for a motherboard.

Sudihan reviews ASUS, Foxconn, and Gigabyte. As for MSI's offering, I know it doesn't allow for CPU based voltage adjustments. The reason I want a 6150 is because I'm planing on running three SATA hard drives.
 

sleepeeg3

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
5,291
The Foxconn ain't a bad board. Personally I would ditch one of those hard drives. I can only think of maybe two scenarios where you could make good use of 3. 150GB Raptor + 2x500GB in RAID for storage or 3*500GB drives, because you do an insane amount of porn archiving.
 

Solar

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 16, 2005
Messages
228
RadCliffeX said:
Have you looked into the Biostar or Evga board?

I don't know of any Biostar board thats a 6150 and the only eVGA I know of is the SLi one and I don't need SLi.


sleepeeg3 said:
I can only think of maybe two scenarios where you could make good use of 3.

I like to have my windows installs on a seperate HD from my "data" I already have an 80gb for that purpose and I'm looking to pickup two of whatever is around the $100-120 mark by the end of the summer (hopefully 400GB). I know its a lot of space but I can't remember the last time I had to purchase a HD, so whatever I buy now should last me until I can't remember again.


Dillusion said:

I find it hard to believe that the MSI K8NGM2-L supports BIOS based vCore adjustments when the NBP and FID versions don't. I don't doubt windows utilities ability to change the vCore, but it does me no good if I can not boot the board in the first place. I know the NBP does not allow it becasue I'm currently using one and I've looked at a pretty comprehensive post on the FID version over at AnandTech (Look at: 4. Specifications II. BIOS Features) so I (only slightly) question whats stated up there, concerning that board. I used the motherboard list sticky as a jumping point. Like I said, this question has started from reading the sticky, and so far through the reading I've done and the posts in this thread, the Foxconn board is seeming to fit the bill but I'd like a selection of 6150 boards (I need the 4 SATA slots) to choose from.
 

ditzilla

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 17, 2006
Messages
421
Hi

Now I will say first that I am technically challenged (yes, I'm a n00b), but I had afew people trying to help me with an OEM version of this board - MSI MS-7297 (K8NGM2-L) in an eMachine T6528.

I can tell you that the one in the eMachine does not have vCore or vMem settings in the BIOS. This may be something that was done just for the eM's that use this board (so people don't mess around too much).

I did a quick google and have seen both yes and no on that question. A few people were apparently able to get more available setting by updating their BIOS.
 

sleepeeg3

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
5,291
That's what I figured. ;) Too lazy to delete is not one of those scenarios.

Instead of wasting money on a third hard drive, buy one really, really fast drive for your OS (WD150 or a new Raptor 74GB 16MB cache) and another large drive for all your crap. One 400GB drive would cover about 100,000 MP3s. Better performance and you won't have to make sacrifices on the board you use. Any 80GB out now is going to be slow anyway. You would feel a tremendous difference.
 

Solar

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 16, 2005
Messages
228
sleepeeg3, you do put forth an interesting solution and it's something I never thought of. I used RAID for a while for my windows base install but putting in the drivers each time was a pain (so was creating a slipstreamed disk). a Raptor would devinitely take care of that issue as well as having that extra 'oomph' when I need it. The second reason why I like two data drives is simply psychlogical. I don't want to loose everything in one fell swoop if possible. If one fails I'll (hopefuly) have half of what ever is left on the good drive, assuming a non RAID configuration of couse. But then again, I've never heard of newer drives constantly failing to the point that backing them up weekly is a must.
 

sleepeeg3

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
5,291
That is a valid point. The 3-5% failure rate are generally the drives that fail right off the bat. The rest will even give you advanced warning. One I had crashed for a few weeks and I kept putting off backing up all my data and voila one day it was toast! That was a refurbed 15k drive that probably got a little toasty in my case. One thing I have done is hang onto the old hard drive with the data to use in case one fails or during migrations.

But now you can just burn anything important to a DVD for practically nothing.
 
Top