iPad and virtual computing....looking 4 Xendesktop /r related info???

Dapperdan

Supreme [H]ardness
Im looking to get more info on using a VDI with an ipad. Im a trader with a trading group and most of us are all over the country. Im based in Chiago and my boss is based out of Florida. Our trading systems are based in Chicago so the farther people are from Chicago the slower their connections are to the trading servers. So basically its my job, as the tech guy, though I have zero actual tech training behind me, I have to see if there are options to help speed up those slow connections to the trading servers. Here is the real kicker, he wants to be able to find a way to access a windows based system from his ipad. He is serious enough that he went out and got me an ipad just to see if I can figure out a way to make this all work.

Currently I run a few VNC servers for charting purposes. We were spending 70k a year on charting services till we started doing the VNC servers. So I started thinking why not look into renting a server downtown near where the trading servers are located and in theory we should be getting better speeds from the tradign platform to the servers. Now with 15-20 guys on each server checking out charts, it can lag a bit and thats fine for charting aspects, but that wont work for trading.

I access my VNC servers just fine from my ipad but thats as far as my tech knowledge extends to. I started looking around and came arcoss Citrix Xendesktop, even downloaded their Citrix receiver app and played a bit with the demo. Based on the videos Iv seen it looks amazing. If Im understanding it right, I believe with one desktop program I can run multiple VDI. Meaning I can have a number of our traders use this at once if needed. As well as rent out a server near the trading servers for quicker trading execution.