Internet (but not LAN/intranet) is sloooow when using router

scottmso

Limp Gawd
I'm a college student who lives in a university housing complex and I use the university's network to access the Internet. I have a wireless router hooked up to my connection in spite of the fact that we really aren't supposed to...but from what I've seen they don't enforce it. Looking right now I see 3 other (secured) non-university access points...I would use the university's but they are only accessible in certain parts of the residence hall.

Over the past few days I've had a problem with the Internet connection being EXTREMELY slow and practically unusable. This is similar to what happens when I do high-speed Bittorrent downloads/seeding on the network...you can have it running at 1-2MB/s+ but it will be literally impossible to browse the web on the same machine/connection (throttling of connections or something?) HOWEVER in both cases, I have no problem accessing systems/websites on the local network, such as the local webmail, school website, or the CS department's system (via SSH).

I figured my cheapo CompUSA router could have been crapping out so I hooked up a Netgear router I had floating around...no dice. Played around with a bunch of things...change MAC address, reset settings, screwed with DNS servers, so on...it didn't do anything. However, when I connect my computer directly to the connection, it works like a charm.

What might be going on here? My suspicion is that the school's IT department is doing something to screw with routers. I do notice that the router's internet connection LED is flashing a lot, even when nothing is connected to the network (and yes, my network is secured via WPA.) I also tried hooking up the router to another network jack here, but same problem.