Interesting cheap JBODs available

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by mikesm, Jan 15, 2012.

  1. Aesma

    Aesma [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,844
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    The problem is the wires are short. I used connectors made for bigger wires and that couldn't fit easily in the PSU, in the end one wire was shorted and that's why the enclosure shut down. I've gotten Scotch Lock thingies from work and those worked much better :

    [​IMG]
     
  2. coran007

    coran007 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    240
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Would be interested in seeing how you did this as well.
     
  3. wxl@ccwb

    wxl@ccwb n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    anyone test it with 6 or 8TB HDD drive ?
     
  4. Mytime34

    Mytime34 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,574
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2000
    Does anyone have the exact pinout for the DB9 to RJ45 serial connection?
     
  5. Mytime34

    Mytime34 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,574
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2000
    I have modified my SE3016 with the following mods:
    1. Noctua 120mm Fans for nice airflow
    2. Silent 40mm PSU fan
    3. IntelĀ® RAID SAS Expander RES2SV240
    4. Moved the power on/off board on top of the PSU

    I have left the original Expander installed, just for the fan monitoring

    My next step is to mount a SFF-8087 to SFF-8088 adapter on the back side, since all connections are the back of my server.

    Here is my current setup:
    HP DL385 G6, 2xOpteron 2427 Hex core, 64gb DDR2 ECC Reg ram
    LSI 9211-4i card in IT mode, with 240gb SSD for the OS (Windows 2008 R2)
    HP P410 512mb cache with BBU - to the Raid Array
    (Raid Array) - SE3016, Intel Expander, 16ea 1tb Sata 2/3 mix of drives in RAID 50
    Highpoint RocketRaid 2720SGL to 6x2tb WD Black Sata 3 drives (Backup of the Raid Array)
    All 4 network ports Teamed together

    3tb single backup drive kept in a safe and used to backup important files once a month

    I was testing an IBM M1015 card with 8,12,16 drives in Raid 10 to see what the speeds were and it was pretty nice.
    8 drives 568mbs/Read, 346mbs/Write
    12 drvies 821mbs/Read, 590mbs/Write
    16drives 979mbs/Read, 516mbs/Write
    I do not have the raid 5 module so I could not test it.

    I than tested the same setup with my HP P410 and was shocked to find that the P410 will connect to Sata 3 drives at the 6gb speeds. So I did some testing
    8 Drives Raid 10, 540mbs/read, 340mbs/Write
    12 Drives Raid 10, 747mbs/Read, 440mbs/Write
    12 Drive Raid 50, 717mbs/Read, 414mbs/write
    16 Drive Raid 50, 727mbs/Read, 420mbs/Write

    The scores are very close to the M1015, but the P410 has BBU and 512mb of cache, plus Raid 50

    I am transferring 3.17tb worth of data from the Backup array to the SE3016 array and my sustained throughput is 314MB/s-344MB/s

    I will be posting pics of the modifications and some screen shots of the testing data

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2015
  6. pillagenburn

    pillagenburn [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    I did something very similar to my SE3016 only I mounted my Intel card opposite the factory SE3016 mainboard in the "loft" of the chassis. I removed the SE3016 mainboard and just power the fans directly.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    My setup:

    supermicro 828tq chassis
    supermicro h8qg6 board
    quad Opteron 6172's
    80gb DDR3 ECC
    6 2tb HGST hard drives
    1 Crucial M500 128GB for OS/ISO/VMOS storage
    USB 3.0 controller for pass-through
    Intel quad VT NIC

    I plan on getting another six 4tb hard drives as my main storage array Raid-5 and re-purpose the 2tb raid-5 to a JBOD for critical backup
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2015
  7. scobar

    scobar .

    Messages:
    34,122
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Sorry to necro

    I have been searching off and on for some time, trying to find more information on the console and any settings. I had found that it is evidently some lantronix-based unit and was able to use their utility to locate and connect to it. However, there were no settings. My chassis are telling my controller the fans have failed. I have removed the original fans and replaced with quieter fans, unsure if it was alarming prior to this as I didn't use the HP SCU in prior deployment, they were jbod.

    Basically, all I want to do is kill the fan alarm.
     
  8. acquacow

    acquacow Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    424
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    scobar likes this.
  9. scobar

    scobar .

    Messages:
    34,122
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    I like that, I would love one of those over this "wonderful" norco.
     
  10. PigLover

    PigLover [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,172
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Careful, though. This one has the old SAS-1 expander backplane (BPN-SAS-EL1). Runs at SATA-II speeds only, won't support large hard drives reliably, has many known issues. That is the reason for the low price. You really want this chassis (SC846) - its wonderful - but you want a newer one with either the direct-attach (TQ) or SAS2 (BPN-SAS2-EL1 or EL2). For that chassis you'll probably spend a $couple of $hundred more - and it will be worth every penny.
     
  11. acquacow

    acquacow Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    424
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Maybe, but you can just rip that backplane out and cable direct if needed.
     
  12. olavgg

    olavgg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    232
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Older BPN-SAS-EL1 backplanes should work great as long you have a controller with the latest firmware from LSI.
     
  13. cantalup

    cantalup Gawd

    Messages:
    758
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Yes and No...

    I had nightmare on SAS1 with HBA LSI card. some drive were not recognized randomly specially 2-3TB drives...

    this is just me, moved to SAS2 backplane was smooth sailing.
     
  14. PigLover

    PigLover [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,172
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Not quite that easy. You need a backplane of some sort in that box or you'd have a cable ratsnest disaster (not to mention that the drive trays would just keep sliding in without the backplane to stop them). You could rip out that backplane and replace it with a TQ, A or SAS2 backplane - but by the time you are done you've spent the same or more money than just buying one configured correctly in the first place. And your knuckles are bleeding.
     
  15. olavgg

    olavgg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    232
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    What firmware was that? Older LSI controller firmware had issues. But I have never had any issues with the 2.00.04 firmware
     
  16. cantalup

    cantalup Gawd

    Messages:
    758
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    LSI HBA 9240 (IBM1015 OEM) P19 firmware :p...

    this the same as my friend said, "oh yeah never happened".
    Once got hit with identical issue, he was just screaming. and I said " I told you" when upgrading 3T or greate with many drives would cause the problem

    I am happy with SAS2 backplane :p... never be happy befotre with SAS1 backplane

    as my pet said, your experience would be different. Please do not scream when happens :p

    stay away with SAS1, this is cheap!!!.
     
  17. mikeblas

    mikeblas [H]ard|DCer of the Month - May 2006

    Messages:
    12,775
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    I'm pretty thoroughy confused by SuperMicro model numbers. Can you mention which chassis would handle fast, large SAS/SATA drives, and is cheaper than a 846E1-R900B chassis reconfigured with a BPN-SAS2-EL1 backplane? The linked auction has the chassis for $250 shipped, and it looks like the BPN-SAS2-EL1 can be found for about $200 -- around $550 total.

    I think the 846A-R900B fits the bill, but I don't see it much cheaper than $1200 ... plus shipping.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2016
  18. PigLover

    PigLover [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,172
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Search ebay for SuperMicro 846. Check the backplane type and ensure its SAS2 or direct attach (TQ or A). You can almost always find them for under $500, often a lot under.

    Happy searching.
     
  19. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,211
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Wow I wonder how those ebay sellers afford to sell the Supermicros for that cheap. Mine cost over a grand new...
     
  20. Master_shake_

    Master_shake_ [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,009
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    probably liquidating to add sas3
     
  21. ari2asem

    ari2asem n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    what kind of adapter did you use for powering up the intel expander?
     
  22. pillagenburn

    pillagenburn [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    HP p812
     
  23. ari2asem

    ari2asem n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    i did better way. i wll post some pictures tomorrow
     
  24. pillagenburn

    pillagenburn [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    This was years ago that I did mine - the parts that I used were what was cheap and readily available at the time. I'm sure there is a lot better stuff these days.
     
  25. ari2asem

    ari2asem n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    i took a 4 pin y-spliiter. took off male-connectors from plastic houseing, squeezed molex-male-terminals to fit into 4 pin atx houseing. now i have 2 female molex 4 pin connectors to power up sas expander (intel res2sv240 or chenbro ck22803)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 22, 2019
  26. ari2asem

    ari2asem n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    my other modifications:

    replacing 80x38mm back fans with 120x38mm fans. i cut out backpanel for new fans. not nice cut-out but it is functional and working.
     

    Attached Files:

  27. ari2asem

    ari2asem n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    i had to bend the clip of the backcover under the new fans to fit
     

    Attached Files:

  28. ari2asem

    ari2asem n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    making room for chenbro sk22803. once again....maybe not so nice cut-out, but functioning good :)
     

    Attached Files:

  29. ari2asem

    ari2asem n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    nice thing about thic case that it is recognizing my 10tb hdd. i only tried with 1 hdd of 10tb. but i assume putting 16x hdd of 10tb each (160tb raw) wouldn't be problem.

    my next search is replacing the fan of psu. that little thing makes more noise than 2 scynthe ultra kaze 3000rpms together (120x120x38mm fans spinning at full speed).
     
  30. JeffBlair

    JeffBlair Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    333
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Replacing the fan is pretty simple. And, it makes a HUGE difference in the noise level.
     
  31. ari2asem

    ari2asem n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    little update about hard disks.
    i putted 4 hdd of each 10 tb and all are recognized as it should be. 4 times 9,09Tib disks. my next step is buying license of drivepool from stablebit so i can use it with snapraid
     
  32. Veeb0rg

    Veeb0rg 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,278
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Mine is still alive and kicking, has 4 8tb drives in it and a bunch of older WD red's. I take everything out and blow out the dust ever so often. The noise doesn't bother me as its in the basement, the Quanta switch is much louder by far. I have been thinking of picking up a Norco 24bay 4u and retiring it though, just to slimline my setup a bit.
     
  33. ari2asem

    ari2asem n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    i would prefer this case in sted of norco because of short depth, if you use this case only as storage or jbod case. norco is better because you can put motherboard in it

    now another question. has anyone replaced the fan of psu with alternative model? this little thingy of 40x40x28mm fan is making much more noise than 2 scynthe ultra kaze 120x120x38mm at 3000 rpms. any suggetion to change psu fan? this fan has 3 pin, but the plastic connector is not normal 3pin-fan housing. any options?
     
  34. Veeb0rg

    Veeb0rg 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,278
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    I have a 2u half depth case for my server and then this 3u JBOD, I would replace them both with the norco. Would just make management easier on me.