interaction between calibrated ICC profiles & games

Momo

Gawd
Okay, so i'm a total display newbie i have to admit.

From doing a little searching around here, it sounds like many games out there ignore or over-ride your ICC profile when launched.

Can someone with more knowledge about this clarify?

Do they ognore the ICC profile completely, or do they try and 'enhance' it?

If my monitor's out of box setup is garbage (ie: way too bright, too much contrast, and too much Red lets say) ... and i launch a game that over-rides the ICC profile with it's own, or tries to enhance it's settings ... i'm still not getting what the game designed is shooting for, right? because my OOB setup was not a calibrated setup? They base their game-specific colour settings/icc profile/whatever they're forcing on a properly calibrated display i'd hope.

So, wouldn't it be beneficial for me, as a gamer, to calibrate my display with something like a Spyder4 Express, to get a relatively accurate starting point for the given games that i play to change the colors from? or is this defeated entirely by any game that enforces colour manipulation? (i dont know the correct term for what games like this do, sorry)

Once again, sorry for my newbishnes in this regard.

Thanks for any clarification you can provide, [H].

Games tend to ignore ".icc" profiles. There are some games like WoW that have an option to "use desktop gamma" which will at least use your video card control panel's calibration but, I'm not sure if it uses whatever ".icc" profile you have active.

It really doesn't matter what a game that ignores a calibration is trying to do because, the environment it was designed under will be different from the users. A game has no way to adjust to a display's actual calibration needs such as the ambient lighting conditions or that a display can have a gamma of 2.3, 2.6, or any random gamma point out of the box. IIRC, games basically switch to a generic PnP monitor ".icc" profile.