Intel Optane 800p as caching for HD

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by TheMadHatterXxX, Jun 14, 2018.

  1. TheMadHatterXxX

    TheMadHatterXxX 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,644
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Anyone using the 800p as a caching drive for their secondary storage drive?
     
  2. Iratus

    Iratus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,076
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Jeez, how bad is that loading time. Even with the optane I was starting to think it was of those videos where it’s testing to see how long you will wait before getting bored.
     
  3. TheMadHatterXxX

    TheMadHatterXxX 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,644
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Well I dunno...can't hurt to try since I don't want to let go of a WD Black 256mb cache 6tb drive I got ..I'm going to give it a shot this week on my new build...anyone have any games they want me to test? I think Just Cause 3 has a long loading time.
     
  4. Dew

    Dew 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,023
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Are you with an 8th Gen Intel chipset, so are going to use the new Intel feature? Or are you going to use something hardware independent, like PrimoCache?
     
  5. TheMadHatterXxX

    TheMadHatterXxX 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,644
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Yeah I got an i7 8700k & MSI z370m AC Pro gaming board I'm finishing...just haven't changed my sig yet. It only caught my interest after Intel recently updated the driver to allow it to work on secondary non-os drives.