Intel Optane 800p as caching for HD

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by TheMadHatterXxX, Jun 14, 2018.

  1. TheMadHatterXxX

    TheMadHatterXxX 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,802
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Anyone using the 800p as a caching drive for their secondary storage drive?
     
  2. TheMadHatterXxX

    TheMadHatterXxX 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,802
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
  3. Iratus

    Iratus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,173
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Jeez, how bad is that loading time. Even with the optane I was starting to think it was of those videos where it’s testing to see how long you will wait before getting bored.
     
  4. TheMadHatterXxX

    TheMadHatterXxX 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,802
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Well I dunno...can't hurt to try since I don't want to let go of a WD Black 256mb cache 6tb drive I got ..I'm going to give it a shot this week on my new build...anyone have any games they want me to test? I think Just Cause 3 has a long loading time.
     
  5. Dew

    Dew 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,028
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Are you with an 8th Gen Intel chipset, so are going to use the new Intel feature? Or are you going to use something hardware independent, like PrimoCache?
     
  6. TheMadHatterXxX

    TheMadHatterXxX 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,802
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Yeah I got an i7 8700k & MSI z370m AC Pro gaming board I'm finishing...just haven't changed my sig yet. It only caught my interest after Intel recently updated the driver to allow it to work on secondary non-os drives.
     
  7. TheMadHatterXxX

    TheMadHatterXxX 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,802
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Well I forgot to run a stopwatch but I noticed a substantial difference in load times for Just Cause 3 and Witcher 3....it felt like I was running the game off my SSD. It's definitely not a placebo effect, they load up substantially faster enough that it makes it noticeable.
     
  8. SvenBent

    SvenBent 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,384
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Claiming it's not a placebo effect does not in anyway elevated it for ppl knowing what placebo effect is.
    Without numbers it's always risc its placebo even how clear you think you feel the difference.

    Do never underestimate the power of placebo.


    Not saying you are wrong, just that the "test" is pretty invalid to me due to risc of placebo
     
  9. likeman

    likeman Gawd

    Messages:
    522
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Doing caching with an ssd does improve load times (typically after second game load)

    but price of an optane drive I would just get a 512gb or ideally a 1tb ssd (sata or nvme based) and use the hdd drive for storage (not games as that would defeat the point of getting a ssd, unless you got a small 250/256gb one)
     
  10. TheMadHatterXxX

    TheMadHatterXxX 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,802
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    But why do that when you can have one 6TB - 12TB drive that performs like an SSD.
     
  11. likeman

    likeman Gawd

    Messages:
    522
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    They don't perform like a ssd, but you can use optane/nvme/sata ssd with software to do large caching (still prefer 1tb ssd + large hdd for other stuff and backup)
     
  12. JargonGR

    JargonGR Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    435
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    I have a a relatively large collection of digital assets that are used for our work consisting of 100s of thousands of small and some big files (PSDs, textures, photos and few video projects).
    I also have around 10,000 Fonts handled by Fusion that has its database stored on a Samsung 960 Pro - nut big file though.

    The library is stored on WD Gold 10TB HD and its size is 3.5TB and growing daily.


    I am using Adobe Bridge & ACD See to browse them and I wish I could somehow speed it up more. It is a hell of a lot faster than it was in my old PC but more speed would not hurt. The problem is that I can't store the library on an SSD (too big) so I was looking into ways to speed it up.

    The most economic way to boost speed is going for SATA 1TB Samsung 860 EVOs that are quite cheap now, but are they any good for such a task?

    Alternatively, I was thinking of getting an Optane 800 but what good will caching be when 99% of the time access to my library is random.
     
  13. likeman

    likeman Gawd

    Messages:
    522
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    the samsung SSD as a cache it would work as long as the software doing the caching can do 1TB, but seem better if money is less an issue (more you can burn it to make more) the 850 and 860 evo ones come in 2TB and 4TB sizes as well might suit your needs better (but really mad to look at them prices thought)
     
  14. JargonGR

    JargonGR Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    435
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    As I also mentioned in the other thread for now I got my "speed fix" with a 10TB WD Gold and will be waiting for 2TB & 4TB models to drop in price before I start moving my libraries to them.