Install vista on multiple drives within a single PC?

Arceon

Weaksauce
Interesting question: Can you install one copy of Vista one two seperate hard drives within the same PC, and dual boot them. The question is not so much "Is it possible", thats obvious, its more "Is this legal / allowed?".

I ask because i plan on vlite-ing my vista disk and having a "Gaming" edition one one drive, and a full fat version on the other, then dual booting.

"The software license is permanently assigned to the device with which you acquired the software. That device is the “licensed device.” A hardware partition is considered to be a separate device."

Apparently not, according to the EULA (that's an OEM EULA, anyway).

Hmmm i thought the device with which you aquired an OEM disk could be any device central to the running of the computer i.e. Motherboard, Ram, CPU, HDD. (I bought my OEM disk myself, as im a Microsoft licensed system builder)

If the OEM disk was bought with a motherboard does this make it exempt? Equally does that mean you cant install it on a hard drive because thats a seperate device??

Microsoft really don't do plain english do they lol

If you keep the system running well and keep it properly maintained, you don't need separate instals just for gaming. That's akin to use a nuclear bomb to hammer a nail into some wood. It is actually quite simple to keep a Windows system running at peak performance in XP, and even more so with Vista.

Also, if you care about system stability, avoid vLite like the plague. So many people have had weird issues after using it. Maintain your system the right way, and you won't need to do all that extra work.

And to answer your question, you'd need two separate licenses.

Well yes it could be seen a little extreme, but the difference really has to be seen. I had a nLite XP install and a regular, and we are talking upto 20fps difference in some situations. With vista this should be even more dramatic.