Infinity Fabric question.

AVATARAT

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 16, 2020
Messages
134
I wonder and I can't find information on how bad would be to use IF @ 2000MHz for 24/7

The IF on my 5600x can run at 2066MHz, but there are errors in Windows in HWinfo, at 2033MHz I have errors, but rarely. Therefore, I set it to 2000Mhz, I have no errors and the system is stable at the moment and there is no problem even with OCCT Small FFT for 20 minutes and 1 hour MemTest64 (I will test it more in the next few days).

However, I wonder if it is healthy for the CPU to work like this permanently?
 

Endgame

Gawd
Joined
Jan 10, 2007
Messages
529
Did you have to crank up voltage to get it to work at 2000mhz, or is everything just stock?
 
Last edited:

Endgame

Gawd
Joined
Jan 10, 2007
Messages
529
Stock, Auto as voltages for CPU and SOC.
Then I don’t see any reason why it wouldn’t be ok long term. You’re also quite lucky - my 5950 won’t go over 1866 IF with stock voltage. I’m still tuning mine and haven’t tried to boost the SOC voltage yet.
 

AVATARAT

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 16, 2020
Messages
134
OK, I am at home and did few screenshots in the BIOS.

210112201059.png
210112200249.png
210112200334.png
210112201902.png
210112200418.png
210112200534.png

testOCCT.png
 

Slade

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
2,724
I've been running 24/7 @ 1866, but that's more the limit of my ram than anything. To keep hw errors down, I had to crank up soc voltage on mine. So far I've had this up and running 1.5 months now with only reboots to test new bios updates/graphics drivers.
 

alyjen

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
102
Please add ZenTimings screen, it summarizes all voltages and memory settings pretty well. Unless your voltages are way off you can run it this way, I must say you're pretty lucky if it works out of the box ;)
 

alyjen

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
102
oh that's indeed Asus default :) great results, I may need to check this new BIOS as I have very similar motherboard (just full ATX version)
if FCLK is stable you can try and lower some other timings, get Dram Calculator for Ryzen, check some tutorials and slowly start tightening these secondary timings
 

AVATARAT

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 16, 2020
Messages
134
Unfortunately Dram Calc got me timings that didn't work, and I will need to do it by the slow way :(
But I am happy with the result that I had now, I want just a bit longer test with MemTest64 (TPU) :)
 

alyjen

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
102
Oh you can't apply them all at once, and you have to test what's working and what's not ;) some of the timings are connected, so just leave everything you don't change on auto.
 

Endgame

Gawd
Joined
Jan 10, 2007
Messages
529
Not to hijack this thread, but i read on the asus rog forum that reducing SOC voltage could help booting up with higher IF speed. I set mine to 1.025 and it worked great - I managed to boot and compete cinebench with ram and IF set to 2000 (haven’t figured out where to set uclk yet). Unfortunately, moving to 2000 dropped my cinebench score about 300 (29504 -> 29212).

what’s really annoying in the crosshair hero viii bios is most of these settings are in there twice. I have no idea what happens if you set one value, but not the other...
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
172
If you can run 2000 then she should be good. Also its the same with my bios too, same stuff is in a different section. Seems like a waste.. the could have uclk settings there instead of the extra code for that lol.
 

Endgame

Gawd
Joined
Jan 10, 2007
Messages
529
Downloaded zen timings and it showed I only had IF at 1866. Found another place in the bios to set it to 2000 - it boots, but that’s about all it does before crashing.

i also had to use the bios search feature to find the UCLK divider setting. Set it to match memory speed and it’s working great at 1866.

I’m now playing with curve optimizer more before trying to tackle IF again.
 

Digital Viper-X-

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
14,217
I've been on 2000 for a couple of weeks now, no issues so far. I had my first system crash yesterday, but I was undervolting the GPU which may have caused it :)
 
Top