IE6 opens typed addresses in Firefox/Opera

donut

n00b
So the problem. Any addresses typed into Internet Explorer 6's address bar are opened in the default browser (Firefox or Opera on my system, I tested making both default). And it will not allow me to set IE6 as the default browser. The home page in IE6 is google.com so I tried doing a search, which worked, but it seems if you browse too long just using links it will open up 69 IE6 windows and then open up the default browser (Firefox/Opera).

This even happens in Safe Mode. There are no new process that are running and no known recent changes that would cause this.

Any ideas?

You have Firefox and Opera? Windows is probably confused. A triangle tug-o-war perhaps?

Seems strange that you're still using IE6 with two third-party browsers installed. If I bought a Lamborghini and a Ferrari, I certainly wouldn't be driving the '92 Toyota I inherited from my dad.

Well, you aren't a web developer are you? :D

I'm a web developer. I actually have Opera, Firefox, IE6 normal install and IE7 standalone. If I had my way I'd only be using Firefox.

Actually I am. Nothing major, but I try.

Seems like you've put a bunch of browsers in a bag and shook it up. Not sure how to force it. Maybe one of these days someone will improve upon the IE Tab extension to where you can select all the different browsers without having to install the browsers themselves.

Well, I've been running all of these browsers for ages without a hiccup. It's only in the last day that this problem has cropped up.

Tools > Internet Options > Programs .... Select the box near the bottom that says "Internet Explorer should check and see if it is the default browser"

Should fix your problem. Keyword is "should" ;)