I need input on a few situations I'm dealing with (Win XP)

XorSystem

Weaksauce
I was recently hired for a job as an IT tech, and a few issues have been put in-front of me, and I'm wondering what the best was to go about dealing with them is. Any help would be appreciated dearly. This is at a University and I am still a student, so I'm really looking towards those who have worked in this field for a while, for guidance:)

First issue: The individuals using the office building are using Eudora as their e-mail client. My boss wants me to find a way to have their stuff backed up just in-case one of the genius users happens to download something that messes up their machines (which is going to be a separate issue). So what I've looked at doing, is using a command-line zip program, to zip their Eudora profile folder, and then send it via a batch file to their networked drive, just to have it as a back-up. I'm written the program but in my heart, I don't think it's the most efficient way of doing it. Plus deploying it will be a major issue. Anyone have any suggestions on an easier way to backup certain files and sending them to a network location?

Issue two: Everyone has administrator access, which I hate and I've been given the green light to completely take that away from them. Unfortunately, on the majority of computers that I've done it to, when they log in to their current existing profiles, the mapped drives are gone, the theme is gone, and unaccessable, and all the shortcuts are gone. Is there a workaround for this? I'd prefer that everyone have a limited or standard user account, but they also need to be able to work.