Hybris physx Q- HD7870 + ?

Discussion in 'Physics Processing' started by aarkay14, Jul 9, 2013.

  1. aarkay14

    aarkay14 n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Hi Guys,

    I am planning to build a Hybrid Physx setup, I have the following rig:

    1. AMD fx-4100
    2. MSI 890GXM-g65
    3. XFX HD 7870 2 GB Dual Dissipation
    4. 600 W cooler master elite power
    5. 4 Gigs of Corsair RAM 1333 Mhz
    6. I need an nVidia card and cant decide on what ..

    My queries:
    1. My mobo runs the pci-e lanes at x8 / x8 if 2 cards are inserted. I cannot change my mobo, will there be any performance issues?
    2. I cannot have the new card with external power from PSU. dont have more power room left, Either i will have to buy a molex to pcie power converter [if they are good and actually work]

    Please advice on how to proceed with this ..
     
  2. d50man

    d50man W[H]iskey Lover

    Messages:
    2,746
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    No issues at 8X used to run it like that on x58

    I use the gt640 currently no plug required and it is quiet and cool
     
  3. aarkay14

    aarkay14 n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    ok great !

    But is my system Ok to have hybrid Physx .. I mean is the hybrid physx setup dependent on specific hardware or we just need a motherboard with 2 PCIe slots
     
  4. bigted

    bigted [H]ard|DCer of the Month - Oct. 2013

    Messages:
    3,334
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    you just need a motherboard with 2 x16 physical slots. the software will run with any config as long as you have an AMD and NV gpu.

    good luck :)
     
  5. aarkay14

    aarkay14 n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Great!

    I will buy a GT 640 [a bit costly though].. and see how it performs in Metro 2033 and Mirror's Edge..
     
  6. aarkay14

    aarkay14 n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
  7. bigted

    bigted [H]ard|DCer of the Month - Oct. 2013

    Messages:
    3,334
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    1) there will be no detriment or benefit, if you're playing a game with no physx, it won't be in use and won't take away from the main card

    2) very general question, but the main side effect is using more power, you will be powering the card, and it will add to your watt total.
     
  8. d50man

    d50man W[H]iskey Lover

    Messages:
    2,746
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    beware that is a dual slot card if you have a power supply below it make sure you have room
     
  9. bigted

    bigted [H]ard|DCer of the Month - Oct. 2013

    Messages:
    3,334
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
  10. aarkay14

    aarkay14 n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Will 600 Watts supply be enough for both the cards??

    1. XFX HD 7870 2 GB ghost edition
    2. Nvidia GT 640
     
  11. d50man

    d50man W[H]iskey Lover

    Messages:
    2,746
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    More important read the 12v rail amp rating 30A total should be safe on overrated supply
     
  12. bigted

    bigted [H]ard|DCer of the Month - Oct. 2013

    Messages:
    3,334
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    which power supply exactly?
     
  13. aarkay14

    aarkay14 n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    I have a cooler master extreme power 600 Watts PSU, is it OK? Or should I get a new one??
     
  14. bigted

    bigted [H]ard|DCer of the Month - Oct. 2013

    Messages:
    3,334
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    if it were me, i'd be putting money into a new PSU before getting a PhysX card.

    i did see one review of a later version of that model that went out of 12v spec at 450w (which is really bad, could damage components bad).

    get one with at least an 80+ bronze rating and a single 12v rail, probably around 500 watts or so. You'll be much better off.

    I am by no means an expert, and would recommend you post in the Power Supplies section HERE.
     
  15. aarkay14

    aarkay14 n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    OK, but the zotac GT 340 takes power from the motherboard.. will it still pose a threat ?
     
  16. bigted

    bigted [H]ard|DCer of the Month - Oct. 2013

    Messages:
    3,334
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    i think the max a video card can take from the board is like 75w, so it would be safer than buying a card that has an external connection. i have a gt430 with a 6950 and use High physx on BL2 just fine :)
     
  17. d50man

    d50man W[H]iskey Lover

    Messages:
    2,746
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    aarkay14 you are good
     
  18. aarkay14

    aarkay14 n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    I DID IT! ..

    Yes, got the GT640 with 384 cores, and there is no more slowdown in Mirror's Edge when the glass start to shatter !! .. However there is a minor pause in the game when some physx loads, maybe due the fact of slower memory of GT640, is there any way of overclocking the nVidia card?
     
  19. d50man

    d50man W[H]iskey Lover

    Messages:
    2,746
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    i think it was ngo's forums that have the tweak settings to fix that
     
  20. aarkay14

    aarkay14 n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Its OK, Hybrid Physx is too finicky and I should mess with it once it is working fine.. :)
     
  21. linziyi

    linziyi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    70
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    So hybrid physx is like the best of both world? using ATI for computing and nvidia for physx?
     
  22. P10-17000

    P10-17000 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    120
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    http://download1.msi.com/files/downloads/uti_exe/vga/MSIAfterburnerSetup300Beta12.zip is how to OC and unOC, I would just pop the card back out when you are done playing any PhysX games.

    It's a way to save money since nVidia is overpriced for their performance (they have a $1000 "Titan" if that tells you anything!) so buy a cheap GTX260-216core or something, it is only needed/will only work until PhysX3 games come out, anyway!
     
  23. aarkay14

    aarkay14 n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    AH!

    Something has happened, my motherboard is no longer booting, I press the power button and nothing happens.. I tries checking everything else works fine.. Did hybrid physx blew my mobo ??


    - Rama
     
  24. d50man

    d50man W[H]iskey Lover

    Messages:
    2,746
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    power supply likely
     
  25. aarkay14

    aarkay14 n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Have changed PSU / RAM everything.. still no boot..

    - RK
     
  26. tran1981

    tran1981 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    101
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
  27. Eustus

    Eustus n00b

    Messages:
    29
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Hybrid PhysX will have nothing to do with part failure.
     
  28. aarkay14

    aarkay14 n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Sorry To necro an old thread but (just for closing puposes) - it turned out to be the Mobo... got it replaced and sold it.. too finicky... would go for an intel build always.. I dont know why but my experience with AMD has not been so good.. :(

    -Rama