Hub/Router For LAN Gaming?

BrackMontgomery

Weaksauce
We now have a few computers in the house and want to network them for gaming purposes, as well as for sharing files from time to time. I was just curious as to whether I would be better off going for a hub or router, and what models would be best for what I intend to do? I'm new to looking into networking hardware, so this is one area I'm clueless. I know routers have a firewall feature which is nice, but are they as good as a hub for gaming?

Any help would be appreciated...

go to your local best buy, or whomever would sell linksys wireless router/switch combo, that should do you good. It will allow you to have wireless in your home if you ever need it, and it will let you connect all your computers up so that they can talk to each other and to the internet, and it also provides a small layer of secutiry (it is not a true firewall, but makes it that much harder for skiddies to get to your computer)

From what I understand, wireless is quite a bit slower than a hard-wired connection, so I think that's out. I don't like the security issues associated with wireless either. If I ever go wireless it'll be when they fix the problems they have now and speed it up some...

So a switch is the best bet for connecting our computers and playing games? All the stuff I found on Lanparty.com suggested a hub, and to use a switch only when the number of computer users gets real high. I just wonder if a router will do the same as a hub, only it has the bonus of a firewall for outside internet traffic...

Any gamers here that like to LAN let me know...

A switch is faster than a hub, but you'll need lots of computers and very heavy network traffic to really notice.