HP Laptop for work

Blakor

Gawd
I currently have a 3yr old Dell e6420 for work:
2520m (dual core 2.5GHz, turbo to 3.2)
14" 1600x900
4GB
80GB SSD

The battery is about shot, and the warranty is almost up, so I have the choice to replace it with either of these:

HP Elitebook 840 G1
4300u (dual core 1.9GHz, turbo to 2.9)
14" 1920x1080
4GB (hoping I can upgrade this)
180GB SSD
~3.5lbs + 0.6lb AC adapter

HP ZBook 15
4800MQ (quad core 2.7GHz, turbo to 3.7)
15.6" 1920x1080
16GB
180GB SSD
Quadro K1100M
~6.2lbs + 2lb AC adapter?

I'd really like a mainstream enterprise laptop like I have, but that's not an option at my company. So I need to either go with the underpowered Ultrabook or the monstrous CAD workstation. I'm a network engineer, so I don't really need the 3D horsepower. However, I can't help but feel that the 4300u CPU is a downgrade from the 2520m I currently have.

Concerns with Elitebook:
-Will the 4300u feel fast enough 1 or 2 years from now? I've read HP only allows it to run at 2.1GHz on battery power.
-I'm a network engineer which means I'm plugging a cable into the RJ45 slot to test routers and stuff. I'm really concerned about the resiliency of a flip-down door to access the Ethernet port several times a day.

Concerns with ZBook:
-Weight. Zomg, 2lb AC adapter. That'll be fun bringing to meetings and packing in the suitcase.

Has anybody used either of these, and if so, what are your thoughts about them?

The 4300u performs pretty good for a low voltage processor. For general office use it should be fine. There is a bios option that lets the processor use turbo mode while on battery (DC) power which should let it go all the way to 2.9Ghz (for short bursts) and sustained around 2.5-2.6Ghz. This will be less if you load the integrated graphics, as it shares the TDP with the cpu.

The hinge design on the ethernet port can take some getting used to, however you should be able to use this dongle with the docking station port if the hinge is an issue.