Hi folks, I have had this HP Home Server EX495 for a couple years. I use it strictly for backups of one PC. Like most folks on this site, over the past couple years I have switched motherboards in the PC a few times, switched OS hard drives, switched OS, and botched a few OS installs. The Computer name entered in the OS setup has always been the same. Every time, I make one of these changes the server thinks it is a new computer it is talking to. I never thought this was much of a problem. Until now.
I just completely redid my setup. New MB, new HD, new processor, etc. After a fresh Win7 install, I went to load the HP setup to connect my PC to the EX495, I get a message saying that I am only allowed to link 10 computers under WHS. I have seen suggestions to delete one of the computers from WHS. Nice idea, but I need to connect before I can delete one.
Any ideas how I get into the server? I would prefer not to loose 2 years of work data backups.
Thanks,
Bob
I just completely redid my setup. New MB, new HD, new processor, etc. After a fresh Win7 install, I went to load the HP setup to connect my PC to the EX495, I get a message saying that I am only allowed to link 10 computers under WHS. I have seen suggestions to delete one of the computers from WHS. Nice idea, but I need to connect before I can delete one.
Any ideas how I get into the server? I would prefer not to loose 2 years of work data backups.
Thanks,
Bob